It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
* Library & Information Science: NEW E-Books
For students in the UK Library & Information Science master's program or anyone with an interest in library science
Many of you are participating in the program remotely, so your librarian has been focusing on purchasing more e-books that you can access anywhere. Below are some new acquisitions as of February 2020. If you have suggestions for book purchases, please let your librarian know!
Our goal with this book is to create a multi-library, foundational resource on disabilities services and advocacy in libraries. It will serve as a guide for planning for all types of disabilities services and resources, including facilities, programming, reference and instruction, technologies, and collaborations. Librarians are continually faced with challenges of how to best meet the needs of disabled patrons, whether those patrons have physical or intellectual disabilities, differing learning styles, or even temporary problems which impact their access and may change over time. Specifically, librarians need a guide to the types of things to look out for, lists of issues which can be fixed quickly and easily, and a strategy for planning for more long-term changes which need to take place in policies, technologies, and organizational culture.We believe that much of the information available on these topics is scattered, and does not always include applications to libraries in the ways that are needed for action. Our book will gather all of the salient information in one place -- from research-based best practices to learning materials to improve individual and organizational competencies -- while providing both a readable journey and a foundational reference. In other words, we want to produce a guide on those disabilities topics which (as far as we can tell by the huge numbers of attendees at disabilities programs and workshops at ALA!) "inquiring minds want to know." Our focus will be on explaining how libraries can upgrade facilities, programs, outreach efforts, and collections, as well as the many ways that librarians can help increase disabilities awareness of library staff, patrons, and students of all ages.
As digital media, tools, and techniques continue to impact and advance the humanities, Doing More Digital Humanities provides practical information on how to do digital humanities work. This book offers: A comprehensive, practical guide to the digital humanities. Accessible introductions, which in turn provide the grounding for the more advanced chapters within the book. An overview of core competencies, to help research teams, administrators, and allied groups, make informed decisions about suitable collaborators, skills development, and workflow. Guidance for individuals, collaborative teams, and academic managers who support digital humanities researchers. Contextualized case studies, including examples of projects, tools, centres, labs, and research clusters. Resources for starting digital humanities projects, including links to further readings, training materials and exercises, and resources beyond. Additional augmented content that complements the guidance and case studies in Doing Digital Humanities (Routledge, 2016).
Despite advancements in technological and engineering fields, there is still a digital gender divide in the adoption, use, and development of information communication technology (ICT) services. This divide is also evident in educational environments and careers, specifically in the STEM fields. In order to mitigate this divide, policy approaches must be addressed and improved in order to encourage the inclusion of women in ICT disciplines. Gender Gaps and the Social Inclusion Movement in ICT provides emerging research exploring the theoretical and practical aspects of gender and policy from developed and developing country perspectives and its applications within ICT through various forms of research including case studies. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics such as digital identity, human rights, and social inclusion, this book is ideally designed for policymakers, academicians, researchers, students, and technology developers seeking current research on gender inequality in ICT environments.
Over the last few decades, the refrain for many activists in technology fields around the globe has been "attraction, promotion, and retention." Yet the secret to accomplishing this task has not been found. Despite the wide variety of theories proposed in efforts to frame and understand the issues, to date none have been accepted as a universally accurate framework, nor been applicable across varying cultures and ethnicities. Gender Inequality and the Potential for Change in Technology Fields provides innovative insights into diversity creation through potential solutions, including the attraction of more women to study technology and to enter technology careers, the navigation of suitable promotional pathways, and the retention of women in these industries. This publication examines women in IT professions, artificial intelligence, and social media. It is designed for gender theorists, government officials, policymakers, educators, individual activists and advocates, recruiters, content developers, managers, women and men in technology fields, academicians, researchers, and students.
The number of hours individuals spend in front of screens, such as smartphones, televisions, computers, and tablets, is enormous in today's society because screen time plays a very important role in work contexts and an even more significant role in social interaction and cultural consumption. This almost compulsive relationship with screens is more evident in children and young people and can have a lasting impact on how a society approaches screen time. Managing Screen Time in an Online Society is a collection of innovative research on how screen time seduces the person to stay in the online interaction leaving her/him in a state of alienation from her/his face-to-face context. While highlighting the methods and applications of time management in the context of screen time, especially during leisure, social interaction, and cultural consumption, this book covers topics including media consumption, psychology, and social networks. This book is ideal for researchers, students, and professionals seeking emerging information on the relationship between online interaction and personal relationships.
Researchers are becoming increasingly concerned with tracking the impact and reach that their research has on the academic community. Through the implementation of altmetrics, they can now better measure the value that their research has through the analysis of citing behavior and citation-based research evaluation. Measuring and Implementing Altmetrics in Library and Information Science Research is a critical research book that focuses on how altmetrics can help researchers to uncover evidence of societal engagement, influence, and broader impacts that demonstrate the value of their research. It builds a more complete picture of the visibility and profile of individual researchers and observes real-time social media updates that provide insight into how faculty's research is being shared from the moment it is published. Featuring a range of topics such as citations, big data, and social media, this book is essential for researchers, educators, librarians, professionals, academicians, administrators, and students.
In this update of the ideal introduction to the library profession, the core competencies of professional librarians are presented in 14 essays supplemented with foundational principles and context. * Updates a core textbook and introduction to the profession that will be useful for almost all LIS programs and new librarians * Brings together the work of authors who are experts in various core areas * Provides content based on an analysis of emerging trends and issues * Includes key resources for further reading
Handling and archiving data should be done in a highly professional and quality-controlled manner. For academic and research libraries, it is required to know how to document data and support traceability, as well as to make it reusable and productive. However, these institutions have different requirements relating to the archiving and reusability of data. Therefore, a comprehensive source of information is required to understand data access and management within these organizations. Research Data Access and Management in Modern Libraries is a critical scholarly resource that delves into innovative data management strategies and strategy implementation in library settings and provides best practices to stakeholders using the latest tools and technology. It further explores concepts such as research data management, data access, data preservation, building document and data institutional repositories, applications of Web 2.0 tools, mobile technology applications in data access, and conducting information literacy programs. This book is ideal for librarians, information specialists, research scholars, students, IT managers, computer scientists, policymakers, educators, and academic administrators.
An essential resource for LIS master's and doctoral students, new LIS faculty, and academic librarians, this book provides expert guidance and practical examples based on current research about quantitative and qualitative research methods and design. * Now in its sixth edition, the book provides new and updated content that is even more comprehensive than before and contains added sections featuring the voices of prominent LIS scholars, researchers, and editors * "Voices of the Experts" text boxes provide researchers' advice on specific methods and identify what was most important or most valuable about using a particular method and software for analysis--e.g., NVivo, SurveyMonkey, and log capture * Written by coauthors with extensive expertise in research design, securing grant funding, and using the latest technology and data analysis software
Digital collaboration is abundant in today's world, but it is often problematic and does not provide an apt solution to the human need for comprehensive communication. Humans require more personal interactions beyond what can be achieved online. Returning to Interpersonal Dialogue and Understanding Human Communication in the Digital Age is a collection of innovative studies on the methods and applications of comparing online human interactions to face-to-face interactions. While highlighting topics including digital collaboration, social media, and privacy, this book is a vital reference source for public administrators, educators, businesses, academicians, and researchers seeking current research on the importance of non-digital communication between people.
Taking Your Library Career to the Next Level: Participating, Publishing, and Presenting helps librarians establish a brand and name recognition in their area of expertise, suggesting how to write winning proposals for both publication and presentation and places to publish. In addition, it covers how to conquer fears of public speaking and how to make presentations more dynamic. As professional development is important in most library settings to earn or maintain credentials, this book helps academic librarians look for opportunities to earn tenure, also helping special librarians look for ways to focus their training on a narrow subject area. Regardless of their reason for looking for professional development opportunities, librarians of all types will find satisfaction in contributing to the profession at a higher level. Participating in professional conversations and decision-making that impacts others in the field, and sharing knowledge through publishing and presenting are great ways to become better librarians. Helps librarians establish an area of specialty and generate name recognition in their sub-field Provides guidance on the writing process and publishing opportunities, also touching on places to present material Includes guidance on establishing a brand, writing successful proposals, and being a dynamic speaker
Many people believe that what is on the Internet will be around forever. At the same time, warnings of an impending "digital dark age"--where records of the recent past become completely lost or inaccessible--appear with regular frequency in the popular press. It's as if we need a system to safeguard our digital records for future scholars and researchers. Digital preservation experts, however, suggest that this is an illusory dream not worth chasing. Ensuring long-term access to digital information is not that straightforward; it is a complex issue with a significant ethical dimension. It is a vocation. In The Theory and Craft of Digital Preservation, librarian Trevor Owens establishes a baseline for practice in this field. In the first section of the book, Owens synthesizes work on the history of preservation in a range of areas (archives, manuscripts, recorded sound, etc.) and sets that history in dialogue with work in new media studies, platform studies, and media archeology. In later chapters, Owens builds from this theoretical framework and maps out a more deliberate and intentional approach to digital preservation. A basic introduction to the issues and practices of digital preservation, the book is anchored in an understanding of the traditions of preservation and the nature of digital objects and media. Based on extensive reading, research, and writing on digital preservation, Owens's work will prove an invaluable reference for archivists, librarians, and museum professionals, as well as scholars and researchers in the digital humanities.