It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Film Studies: Other Resources
A guide with resources pertaining to film studies.
A former associate of the late Roger Ebert, Roeper has written film reviews for many different publications, including the Chicago Sun-Times. His website features current film reviews (some written, some videos) and archives of past reviews.
A four volume work with the following sections: 1. Films, 2. Directors, 3. Actors and actresses, 4. Writers and production artists. Each volume includes entries with lengthy expository essays, filmographies, bibliographies, and biographies for the entries about people. Broadly international in its coverage.
The American Flim Institute's catalog contains detailed information about every theatrically released feature film between the years 1893 - 1993. For films released after 1993, basic information is included.
Website dedicated to the study of film that is built around the idea of listing the 100 greatest films of all time with interpretive, descriptive review commentary and background history. Includes reference material including Academy Awards history, film genres, film terms, film history by decade, and trivia.
An online database of information related to movies, television shows, actors, production crew personnel, video games and fictional characters featured in visual entertainment media. Can be searched by actor, director, country, character name, etc. (Advanced search is available – click “more” and then “power search”). It includes links to online published reviews and also features reviews submitted by users.
Assembles about thirty reviews per movie from publications around the U.S., with links to the full reviews and gives each film an average rating based on the reviews. Attempts to include every new release, including limited releases and films that appear at film festivals and are reviewed in at least three publications.
An online journal from Australia that is devoted to the serious discussion of cinema. It includes critical evaluations of dozens of directors, film annotations, scholarly essays, top ten lists, and archived articles back to 2000.
Authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Most scripts in the series have never been published before. Includes Warner Bros., Sony, RKO, MGM, and other major film studios' scripts; rights holders such as Faber & Faber, Newmarket Press, Penguin Putnam, StudioCanal, and Vintage Anchor; and the writers themselves, including Paul Schrader, Lawrence Kasdan, Gus Van Sant, Neil LaBute, and Oliver Stone.
An excerpt from "Movies in American History: An Encyclopedia" that briefly discusses the role of screenplays in film. The article mentions several notable screenwriters and scripts that may be of interest to students of film.
Contains quotations from movie dialog, critical judgments of the most celebrated movies ever made, commonly misquoted lines, and statements by the stars, directors, and other cinema personalities. Organized alphabetically by film titles and names of people. There is also a section for “anonymous” and “catch phrases."
Includes information about novels that have been adapted as films, such as production information, a plot synopsis, problems with adapting the work, and about how the film differs from the novel. Each entry includes a short bibliography. Includes two appendixes-- one is an essay about novelists as screenwriters and the other includes short biographical sketches of selected novelists.
Listing of film quotes organized by subject. Indexed by both performer and by movie title. Each quote gives the movie title, production company, year of release, speaker of the line, and, when appropriate, a comment putting the quote in context.
Authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Includes Warner Bros., Sony, RKO, MGM, and other major film studios' scripts; rights holders such as Faber & Faber, Newmarket Press, Penguin Putnam, and Vintage Anchor; and the writers themselves.