It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: Z1219 .C96 - v.1 (1905)-v.100 (2004) – in print in Reference, 2nd floor and in Storage
Includes descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews, with book review citations and full-text of book reviews from eleven other H. W. Wilson indexes. Entries are drawn from over 8,000 periodicals. Books are also subject searchable. When using the print edition for works published before 1983, you will need to know the year the work was published since each volume must be searched separately. Emphasis is on fiction, popular or semi-popular non-fiction, and children’s books. Geared more towards a public library audience as only a limited number of scholarly journals are covered. There are certain restrictions about what items are included – such as non-fiction works must receive at least 2 review and fiction must receive at least 4 review before inclusion, only books published or distributed in the United States are included.
Online coverage for 1965-present.
The most comprehensive of all book review sources. Contains citations to more than 2 million reviews from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers. Search fields include author, date, illustrator, audiobook reader, review length, reading level, review source and type, reviewer, work title, and review title. Print volumes contain several years accumulated into one volume.
Located in Reference, 2nd floor; 15 volumes.
Author and title access to more than one million book reviews which have appeared in 459 scholarly journals in History, Political Science, and Sociology. Its strengths are that it covers scholarly journals which might not appear in some of the other indexes or database and that its period of coverage goes back so far. Also covers books published outside of the United States.
Call Number: Z1035 .A1 I63, Located in Reference, 2nd floor
Publication Date: 1960 - 1989
Indexes several hundred periodicals. Originally only covered English language journals – later foreign as well. The term “humanities” was narrowly defined in earlier volumes as only history and some social sciences, but, beginning with 1970, other topics such as language, literature, art, philosophy and other topics were added.
Call Number: Z1225.W38 1996 Young Library – Reference (2nd floor)
Publication Date: 1996
Index to literary materials published in 19th century magazines. Organized by author’s name, this work lists many types of literary articles from general comments on the author’s life and career, reviews, and original works. Citations come from all sections of the magazines indexed. Many major (Melville, Hawthorne, Poe) and minor writers are covered.
Index of critical comment published in periodicals on American fiction published between 1870 -1910. Major and minor authors are cited as well as major and minor publications. Organized by name of the author.