It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Countries: Databases with a Regional Focus
Find information pertaining to specific countries and regions of the world.
Most topical databases will have a geographic search that includes various world regions, so you can try your searches in databases that cover your main subject focus. The following resources will allow you to focus on a particular area of the world, primarily for news and history.
News research and press clipping service that retrospectively covers mainstream publications in South Africa, from 1978 to present day. Since much reporting on Africa is done in South Africa, these newspapers provide coverage of a range of issues facing countries throughout the entire African continent.
Formerly ABSEES Online (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies). Covers a wide range of subject in journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union published in the United States and Canada.
The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users. This program builds upon a two-year pilot project funded by the Association of Research Libraries' Global Resources.
Online version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index. Provides citations to articles in hundreds of social science and humanities journals worldwide that cover Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Specific topics include current political, economic, and social issues and coverage of Latin American arts and letters. Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works.
Initiative of the Kentucky Virtual Library’s Kentucky Digital Library that seeks to create convenient avenues for educators to access primary resources regarding the history of Kentucky. Bundles together related sources and places them within historical contexts while also suggesting applicable state Combined Curriculum Standards. These bundles are called "themed collections" and are intended for classroom use.