Newspaper Sources
 |
Online newspapers are available from a number of sources, including ancestry.com. At the University of Kentucky, you will find the largest collection of Kentucky newspapers available on microfilm. These newspapers are in the process of being digitized. In addition, UK Libraries subscribes to several online newspaper archival collections. Here are a number of resources available to UK affiliates and in-house users. Microfilm can be requested through your local library's interlibrary loan service, as well. They are valuable genealogy tools because they include births, weddings, divorces, obituaries, local news and social events.
|
- Historic Newspaper SourcesA collection of online newspaper archives available from campus machines and off-campus to UK faculty, staff and students. Below are those with a U.S. focus.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This link opens in a new window
Access to scanned newspaper pages from 1836-1922 (and information about American newspapers published between 1690-present). - 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles from hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. - African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- This link opens in a new window
Now featuring 345 newspapers published in 36 states; full-text searchable. - America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1998
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to colonial and early American history. Also covers large collection of African American publications. With issues from over 700 titles (for many titles the holdings are scattered); includes Kentucky titles. - American Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
Scanned and searchable full-text images from over 1,000 American magazines and journals, including 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 and 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras. Coverage includes popular and scholarly as well as regional and niche publications. - Early American Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Access to scanned newspaper pages from 1690-1876. Also includes African American newspapers, 1827-1998. - Google News Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Search newspapers back 200 years. Generate timelines of matching stories. Sources include Time.com, Factiva, HighBeam Research, Guardian Unlimited, AccessMyLibrary.com (Thomson Gale), and Nexis Uni. - Kentucky Digital Newspapers Program
- This link opens in a new window
Kentucky's National Digital Newspaper Program (KY-NDNP) website offers comprehensive lists of the University of Kentucky's digitized historic newspapers available in both the Kentucky Digital Library and the Library of Congress' Chronicling America. The website also provides an extensive "how-to" on historic newspaper digitization per the NDNP specifications. - Kenton County Public Library's Northern KY Newspaper Index
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the years 1835-1935 and 1982-Present. Library staff and volunteers are working to fill-in the remaining years. In addition to the Kentucky Enquirer and the Kentucky Post, many other smaller Northern Kentucky newspapers are also indexed. Some citations provide links to full-text articles. - Kentucky Newspapers from the U.S. Newspaper List
- This link opens in a new window
Provides links to Kentucky newspaper websites (listed alphabetically by town). Also includes college newspapers, radio and TV stations and regional newspapers. - Local History Index (Lexington, Kentucky newspapers)
- This link opens in a new window
Very selective index to Lexington, KY newspaper articles pertaining to significant people, places, events, churches, businesses and organizations in Lexington and Fayette County, Kentucky, beginning with the Kentucky Gazette in 1787 through the Lexington Herald-Leader of December 31, 2007. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.
Finding Microfilmed Newspapers
Search InfoKat Discovery for a specific newspaper.
- Use the title of the paper (if known), e.g., Lexington Leader
- Use the Subject search if the city, county, state or country is known, such as Lexington newspapers or France newspapers (restrict by using "that contain my query words" and "in subject" in the drop-down below the search box).
Search the UK Libraries Microfilm Holdings Database for a specific Kentucky newspaper or browse by county or city.
Not all Kentucky newspapers available for viewing are included in this database, however (e.g., The Lexington Herald-Leader and the Courier-Journal are not included); if you do not find the Kentucky newspaper you need, check with the Reference Desk or Periodical Desk in Young Library; if we do not own the paper, a librarian or you can check WorldCat to see if another library has the issue you need.
In addition, Ask Us for a book set to the microfilmed newspapers listed by city/town and specifying the available date ranges.
The microfilmed newspapers are available for viewing by appointment. Copiers and digital downloads are available.
Ask Us for assistance.
Guide to Published U.S. Newspapers
Can't find the full-text of the newspaper you need? Not sure what newspaper(s) cover(s) the time-frame and location you are exploring? Use the index below to confirm the paper(s) you need. You can then see if you can borrow the microfilm from a library that holds the newspapers. See
- Holdings:
View complete holdings information
at the bottom of each newspaper record for holding libraries.
University of Kentucky affiliates can request microfilm through the Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690 - present
- This link opens in a new window
Helps identify what titles exist for a specific place and time and how they can be accessed. Search by particular place and time, using keywords to locate specific titles.