It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A companion to and the basis for Econlit, which begins coverage in 1969, Index of Economic Journals was produced by the American Economic Association and provides citations with abstracts for economics articles from many journals from around the world (although only English language articles are included). Divided into different economics subject areas.
Indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. Includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics. Over 99% of the articles are in English or include English summaries. Generally, all articles from all publications are indexed, including notes, communications, comments, replies, rejoinders, etc. Articles lacking author identification or without economic content are omitted. Coverage begins in 1969. Limited to four concurrent users. See these hints for better searching.
General business database that indexes numerous economics journals, with many available as full-text (although some include embargoes on the most current material). Business Source Complete also contains: Political Risk Yearbook - Lengthy reports on the economic, political, and financial conditions for the countries most important to international commerce. Reports include information about political leaders and parties (including opposition groups), recent political history, and business information. Search the term "Political Risk Yearbook" in conjunction with the name of a country. OECD Economic Surveys - Book-length review of the economy of member countries as well as selected non-member countries. To find, use the term "OECD Economic Surveys" in one search box and the name of a particular country in another.
Indexes coverage of issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources, including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. The database includes a historical perspective on many of the 20th century's social and public policies such as Prohibition, the civil rights movement, McCarthyism, Vietnam and Watergate.
A general database that includes a substantial section of economics journals, all of which include links to the full-text. Indexing starts with the first issue and, for most titles, ends at about 4-5 years ago (journals which have ceased publication include the full run; some active titles include indexing for recent issues but not the text). Also includes sections on business, finance, and marketing.
This free web database has over 2 million records of working papers, journal articles, data charts, and books. You can search a variety of different ways including by recent citations and institutions.
Abstracts and full-text (in .pdf) of working papers from this nonprofit economic research organization. Concentrates on four types of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the effects of public policies on the U.S. economy, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals. The working papers make results of NBER research available to other economists in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before final publication.
If you are beginning an Economics project or paper and need help finding information, a couple of good places to start are:
Journal of Economic Perspectives A general interest journal geared towards people who have an understanding of Economics, but are not necessarily experts in all areas. Many of the articles it publishes contain summaries of the current thought on whatever topic is being addressed.
Journal of Economic Literature A journal which publishes primarily survey articles on specific topics in Economics.
Both journals are published by the American Economic Association and are available in paper and electronic formats at UK Library (although both have 2 year embargoes for the most recent electronic issues). It is easy to search for specific topics or just to browse the issues. Both are excellent ways to begin a literature survey since the articles they publish usually address the major studies on their topics.