Skip to main content

* Music: Find Books and Scores

RILM

RILM: Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. RILM covers traditional music, popular music, and classical music in many document types, including books, theses, articles, conference proceedings.

Search RILM

RILM
Limit Your Results

Search RISM Series A/II

RISM Series A/II: International Inventory of Musical Sources after 1600 is an international, annotated bibliography that aims to document the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory, and libretti. RISM contains over 585,559 records by over 20,500 composers from manuscripts found in over 750 libraries and archives in 31 countries.

Search RISM

Search RISM
Limit Your Results

InfoKat Discovery

InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.

InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.

BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.

If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.

The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.

If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.

If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check the map of the libraries locations and the hours for each library.

Open-Access Books

Open-access = FREE to download and or read online.

 

LC's digitized collection Books about Music before 1800 offers access to nearly tw0-thousand books about music printed before 1800. Early highlights include Johannes Tinctoris's Terminorum musicae diffinitorium (c1474), Franchinus Gaffurius's Theoricum opus musiche discipline (1480), and Henricus Glareanus's Dodekachordon (1547).



OAPEN 
has hundreds of freely accessible academic books, mainly in the areas of humanities and social sciences. Click here to search music titles.

 


The Directory of Open Access Books' primary aim is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB.

 


JSTOR's open-access titles include just over 40 books in music. Using the search box will list open-access journal articles and book chapters. If you want a list of book titles only, click on the "Download the title list" button and sort by discipline (music).

 


The Digital Public Library of America
's Open Bookshelf contains almost 3,000 open-access titles.  
Music titles in the DPLA Open Bookshelf.

Searching for Music in InfoKat Discovery

Search InfoKat Discovery

Not in InfoKat Discovery?

If you couldn't find what you were looking for in InfoKat Discovery, here are some suggestions:

1.  Ask for help (searching InfoKat Discovery can be tricky, especially for music!)

2.  Try WorldCat. There's a link to request any item through InterLibrary Loan.

3.  Go directly to ILLiad.

4.  Students, faculty, and staff at UK can also request items on loan from CRL (Center for Research Libraries) through ILLiad. 

ILLiad InterLibrary Loan

Use InterLibrary Loan to borrow a book or score that UK does not own.

Login to ILLiad.

Document Delivery

Don't feel like walking over to Young in the rain?

       

Book & Media Express offers the delivery of books from any campus library and media materials from the Young Audio Visual Services Media Library to a different campus library. It also provides delivery to pick-up locations for patrons needing any materials in InfoKat with the location "Storage - Click on Requests and select Book Express."