Skip to main content

* Music: Databases

NEW DATABASE

             Explore MGG Online now!

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Histories, Bibliographies, & Indexes

Dissertations & Theses

ProQuest provides full-text online access for many dissertations and theses and RILM provides abstracts for dissertations and theses.

Grove Music Online

Grove Music Online includes the following resources:

  • Grove Dictionary of American Music
  • Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
  • New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
  • New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
  • New Grove Dictionary of Opera
  • Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online includes the following resources:

  • Grove Music Online  
  • Oxford Companion to Music
  • Oxford Dictionary of Music

To search all the Oxford Music Online resources at once:

  • type your term(s) in the search box

To move from Oxford Music Online to only Grove Music Online:

  • click on ABOUT on the navigation bar
  • Under What would you like to do? Click on the link under Take me to Grove Music Online

Oxford History of Western Music

Richard Taruskin's Oxford History of Western Music is also a good source to check.

In reference:  REF ML160.T18 2005

In the stacks:  ML160.T18 2010 (yep, you can check this one out!)

Oxford History of Western Music ONLINE

Beyond Groves and Taruskin

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians  REF ML105.B16 2001

Dictionnaire de la musique  REF ML100 .D65

Enciclopedia della musica  REF ML100 .E45

Encyclopédie de la musique et dictionnaire du Conservatoire   REF ML100 .E5

Diccionario de la música española e hispanoamericana   REF ML101.S7 D53 1999

The Harvard Dictionary of Music  REF ML100.A64 2003

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart   REF ML100 .M92 1994

Scores Online for Printing and Study

FEATURED DATABASE : DRAM


Database of Recorded American Music
 (DRAM) is a audio streaming service of music by American composers. List of American composers represented in DRAM; the list also includes links to composer websites.

OML -- Open Music Library

Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections. Many of the resources are open access (free to view) and others are by subscription only.