EndNote Citation Software
One of the easiest ways to keep track of your sources is to cite as you go. EndNote is a program that current UK staff, faculty, and students can download for free to help you do just that and more.
EndNote features include the following:
- Easily create bibliographies
- Automatically update references and fill in missing data
- Create Smart Groups to help with organization
- Share references and collaborate on group papers
- Sync your library from any computer
- Read, annotate and search PDFs
The EndNote Guide provides more detailed information.
Citation Generators
Selected citation applications.
-
EndNoteUniversity of Kentucky faculty, staff, and students have access to EndNote, a software program that manages bibliographies and citations from research databases.
-
ZoteroIncludes the ability to store author, title, and publication fields and to export that information as formatted references, and the ability to organize, tag, and search in advanced ways.
-
EasyBibGenerate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography. Resource types include books, periodicals, media and online.
-
KnightCiteManual entry only. Styles include MLA, APA & Chicago. Resources types include books, periodicals, media, and online.
MLA Handbook
-
MLA Handbook
by
ISBN: 1603293515Publication Date: 2021Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements.
- Purdue Owl: MLA Formatting and Style Guide
- Citing an e-book & Citing a tweet
- Free online course from MLA: Understanding the MLA International Bibliography
APA Style
This short, self-paced free tutorial from APA takes you through the basics of APA Style 7th edition.
The books below may be helpful as well.
-
APA Style and Citations for Dummies
by
ISBN: 9781119716464Publication Date: 2021E-book. While world-renowned for the precision and clarity it lends to scholarly writing, keeping track of APA style's exacting standards can be demanding (at times even excruciating!) for initiates and seasoned writers alike. Created and governed by the American Psychological Association, it provides a universal style for formatting, citations, and footnotes in psychological research, behavioral and social science journals, and beyond. Getting up to speed is tough stuff, but once you've got it, your work will have that easy-to-follow scholarly authority that will get high marks from your professors and peers alike. -
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832154Publication Date: 2019Print only. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication.
