It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Community Users: On-Campus Research
This guide is intended for people who are not UK students, faculty, or staff.
Useful information for researchers and genealogists from the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives (KDLA). KDLA has several research services available for those doing general research, family history research, judicial/governmental research or property research. These services are available to citizens within Kentucky as well as to those residing outside the Commonwealth.
Formerly known as the Kentucky Newspaper Master Negative Microfilm Database, this resource provides access to the University of Kentucky's holdings of Kentucky newspaper microfilm masters. This database can be helpful in searching by Kentucky city or county or date range. Does not provide full-text to newspapers.
Online finding aids and digitized material from archival collections across the state of Kentucky, particularly small academic institutions and public libraries. Note that content from UK, UofL, and others is not available on the new KDL. Many previous partners now provide access via their own institutions digital libraries. See ExploreUK for access to UK content.
Accessing Resources at UK
Options for accessing online resources while on site:
Use our computers: Visitors to UK Libraries may use one of our "Information Station" computers to access library resources, government resources, "edu" sites, and some selected other websites. For security reasons we cannot provide access to general search engines like Bing, DuckDuckGo, Google, Yahoo, or most other commercial sites in the .com and other domains. Please bring a thumb drive with you to save your research, since you will not be able to email it to yourself.
Use your own computer: Visitors can get a guest ID to log into UK wireless network while on site. See UK IT help documentation about getting access to UK's Guest wifi.
On-site visitors have access to many of the same resources available to UK students and faculty. Anyone on campus has access to electronic resources and may look through the paper resources.
Full-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers, including the Lexington Herald-Leader (1983 - present) and other Kentucky newspapers. Access World News also covers over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources.
Searches the content of reference resources owned by UK Libraries, both electronic and print titles, linking you to the pages that contain your search terms in the electronic versions and to the location of the print title in the paper collection while also providing page references. Electronic resources are indicated by "e-source."
Contains short biographies of notable African Americans with Kentucky roots or ties, organized by profession or subject. Also includes entries for events and locations. Includes links to related resources.