Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Community Users

This guide is intended for people who are not UK students, faculty, or staff.

Find Books and More Through InfoKat Discovery

InfoKat Discovery

InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.

InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.

BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.

If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.

The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.

If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.

If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check our list of library locations and the hours for each library.

Overview of InfoKat Discovery

Watch this short video for an overview and tips to get the most out of our new discovery system, InfoKat Discovery. IKD includes our library catalog plus additional resources, including content from some (not all!) article databases and local digital collections.

Length: 2 mins

 

Screen shot from InfoKat Discovery overview video

LC Call Numbers Explained

See this short tutorial for help finding books by call number.

How To Read Call Numbers

UK Libraries materials are organized according to the Library of Congress Classification System, which groups items by subject.

LC call numbers consist of letters and numbers, and are arranged in alphabetical and then numerical order. To find the floor and wing location for the call number you’re looking for, please refer to our Floor Maps.