It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
* Federal Government Resources: General Information Resources
A selected topical bibliography of U.S. Federal government information sources primarily but not exclusively located on the WWW.
Selected Guides and Indexes Available at UK Libraries
Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976 by Ed. Lester, Daniel W., et al.
Call Number: Z1223.Z9 C850
Often abbreviated as CTI, this item is an alphabetical title listing of almost every document published from 1789-1976 by the U.S. government.
Below are a few resources available at the Ready Reference Collection (2nd floor, behind the Reference Desk) at Young Library.
Guide to U.S. Government Publications by Andriot & Andriot, eds.
Call Number: Young Ready Reference: Z1223.Z7 A574
Guide to U.S. Elections by CQ Press
Call Number: JK 1967.C662 2010
Used to locate information about any U.S. national or gubernatorial election.
InfoKat and U.S. Federal Government Publications
UK Libraries' InfoKat Discovery is the best source for the location, SuDoc/call number and format (paper, microfiche, electronic, online) of U.S. government publications held at UK Libraries.
Any keyword or subject search in InfoKat Discovery will pull U.S. Federal government publications into the search results if there are such publications on the topic. However, if you want to narrow your results to U.S. Federal government publications alone, use the following search strategy:
Go to Advanced Search and type in search terms into the first two boxes, and in the last box, enter the following terms: gpo mvi dgpo
General Databases and GPO
These are some of the most important resources available for U.S. government publications and cover multiple types of documents as well as a variety of subjects.
Catalog of all publications of the United States government, including those of the Congress and all executive departments (with the exception of administrative and confidential or restricted documents). For current access (from 1976 on), use the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications from the federal government (available for all users).
Official website of the government agency responsible for publishing and disseminating official U.S. government publications to Congress, federal agencies, federal depository libraries, and the American public. Includes links to GPO Services and Products, the U.S. Government Bookstore, and information about the Federal Depository Library Program.
Centralized resource for the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) and its librarians. The FDLP is responsible for disseminating federal government information to the American public through the nation’s depository libraries.
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Official statistical information available to the public from the Federal Government. Includes economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, and farm production. Includes official statistics collected and published by more than 100 Federal agencies.
Consolidates links to official federal, state, and local government information websites for the Unites States, Guam, American Samoa, Virgin Islands, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.
Free U.S. Government information for all. govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Access to the various catalogs of the library, the American Memory Project (subject-based access to historic maps, photos, documents, audio and video), exhibitions, Global Gateway (multilingual resources on world culture), and Congress.gov (legislative information, both current and historical).
Every four years, just after the Presidential election, the United States Government Policy and Supporting Positions, commonly known as the Plum Book, is published, alternately, by the Senate Committee on Governmental Affairs and the House Committee on Government Reform. The Plum Book is used to identify presidentially-appointed positions within the Federal Government.
Use the Abstract as a statistical reference and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. 2012 is the last edition, but StatAbs is useful as a source of historical statistics and as a guide to sources of current statistics.
Provides links to information from all levels of government: federal, state, local, tribal. Groups categories by topic and by audience. Lists many directories of government contacts. Reference Center gives abbreviations, calendars, forms, historical documents, laws, maps, and statistics.