art databases
Grove Dictionary of Art is contained within Oxford Art Online.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Rpertoire de la Litterature de l'Art (RILA) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts (in English or French) articles (from over 4,800 journals), art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. Encompasses fine arts—painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture—as well as decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, and folk and popular art. Special subject indexing covers persons, places, institutions, buildings, works of art, and topical subjects, with most subject terms in both English and French.
- Art Index This link opens in a new windowHigh-quality indexing of over 600 current art periodicals, plus dissertations and image reproductions. Find information about journal articles, magazine articles, dissertations, and image reproductions in the visual arts.
Please note: our subscription is limited to 8 simultaneous users. To help other researchers, please close the window when you are finished using this database. - Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowHigh-quality indexing of over 600 art periodicals for articles published from 1929 to 1984
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowOur Oxford Art Online subscription offers access to the Grove Dictionary of Art, the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia ("Grove Art"). It provides global coverage of visual culture from ancient to contemporary times, described in encyclopedia-style entries that are written and vetted by expert scholars.
Please note our subscription is restricted to 3 simultaneous users: to help other researchers, please close the page when you are finished using this database. - ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new windowIndexes information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, published from the late 1960s to the present
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowThe Arts & Humanities Citation Index in Web of Science indexes 87 major American and European art periodicals such as Apollo, ARTnews, Art Bulletin, museum journals, etc.
Books about Chinese Art
Scenes Along the River During the Qingming Festival by Call Number: Fine Arts Library Oversize (ND1049.Z4814 A73 2010)
The Lucille Caudill Little Fine Arts Library has an extensive collection of books about Chinese art.
Journals about Chinese Art
- Arts of AsiaCall Number: NX572 .A75 Fine Arts Library - Oversize
- OrientationsCall Number: DS501 .O73 (Fine Arts Library)
Other Useful Resources
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowInterface allows you to search for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, and create personal playlists for others to view.
Where to Find the Resources
The majority of the print resources on Chinese art can be found in the Lucille Caudill Little Fine Arts Library under the call numbers N7340 - N7349 (Visual Arts - History).