Music Journals
-
Asian MusicCall Number: ML1 .A834
-
-
Popular Music and SocietyCall Number: ML1 .P69457
-
World of MusicCall Number: ML5 .W67
Find Articles in Music Journals
Use these indexes to help you find articles in music journals--both in print and online.
-
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles from hundreds of international music periodicals and journals. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Coverage includes music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theater, theory, popular music, classical music, opera, music theory, music business, and more.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.
-
Music Index This link opens in a new windowContains indexing and abstracts of articles about music and citations for book reviews, obituaries, and news articles. Includes articles from over 660 journals; coverage dating back to 1964.
-
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowA bibliography of writings about music; includes hundreds of thousands of bibliographic records featuring citations, abstracts, and indexing. It covers publications from 1800-2021 and in all document types from around the world on traditional music, popular music, jazz, classical music, and more. Includes citations for all document types including books, conference proceedings, journal articles, dissertations, internet resources, and audio and visual recordings.
Useful Searching Terms
Try these terms to kick-start your searches. Don't forget to look at the terms assigned to articles you find that are appropriate to your subject and then search these terms, too!
Asia (and individual countries)
Culture
Culture and globalization
Cultural globalization
Ethos
Globalization
Glocalization
K-pop
Korean wave
Hallyu
Human geography
Identity
J-pop
Music
Popular culture
Tourism
Translocal exchange
Transnational
Values
Find Articles in Journals beyond Music
Search these databases to find articles in non-music journals about globalization:
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers. Access World News also covers over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources. Spanish-language editions of the newspapers are also included.
-
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowBibliographic index to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, folklore, linguistics, psychology, and religious studies. Indexes articles two or more pages long in works published in English, Germanic, Slavic, Romance and selected Scandinavian languages from the 19th century to the present.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.
EBSCOhost
In EBSCohost you can search multiple databases simultaneously. Possibilities include: Academic Search Complete, Anthropology Plus, MasterFILE Premier, MLA International Bibliography, Music Index, Newspaper Source, Newswires, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences, Sociological Collection, and TOPICSearch.
-
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 50 databases with citations, abstracts and selected full-text. Includes Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete and other subject-specific resources.
EBSCOhost Basic Searching Tutorial
ProQuest
You can also search multiple databases in ProQuest including: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Music Periodicals Database, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, and Social Science Premium Collection.
-
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new windowAccess to a wide range of databases primarily in the sciences and social sciences.
ProQuest Tutorial: Basic Searches
The CRAAP Checklist
Currency: The timeliness of the information.
- When was the information published or posted?
- Has the information been revised or updated?
- Is the information current or out-of date for your topic?
- Are the links functional?
Relevance:The importance of the information for your needs.
- Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
- Who is the intended audience?
- Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e., not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
- Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
- Would you be comfortable using this source for a research paper?
Authority: The source of the information.
- Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
- Are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations given?
- What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations?
- What are the author's qualifications to write on the topic?
- Is there contact information, such as a publisher or e-mail address?
- Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source? examples: .com .edu .gov .org .net
Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the informational content.
- Where does the information come from?
- Is the information supported by evidence?
- Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
- Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
- Does the language or tone seem biased and free of emotion?
- Are there spelling, grammar, or other typographical errors
Purpose: The reason the information exists.
- What is the purpose of the information? to inform? Teach? sell? entertain? persuade?
- Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
- Is the information fact? opinion? propaganda?
- Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional, or personal biases?