General Sources for Research in Ethnomusicology
-
Ethnomusicology by Call Number: Ref ML128 .E8 P67 2004 -
Ethnomusicology Research by Call Number: Ref ML128 .E8 S4 1992 -
The Music and Dance of the World's Religions by Call Number: Ref ML128 .S17 R87 1996 -
-
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Although The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians focuses on Western art music, you will find information on world musics. "Groves" is available in the reference section of the Fine Arts Library (REF ML100 .N48 2000) and online through Oxford Music Online.
See also The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments in the Reference section REF ML102 .I5 N48 1984
-
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowA gateway to Oxford's music reference publications, offering users the ability to search Grove Music Online together with The Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music, a total collection of more than 70,000 articles on music written and reviewed by subject experts and suitable for musical amateurs, professionals, and scholars alike. Please note: Database restricted to five simultaneous users
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A ten-volume set with CDs, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music includes general introductions, articles by notable scholars, maps, musical examples, glossaries, bibliographies, discographies and more. Each volume deals with the music of a particular region of the world.
Recommended!
-
The Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicCall Number: REF ML100 .G16 1998
-
East Asia : China, Japan, and KoreaCall Number: REF ML100 .G16 1998 vol. 7; CD 3352 vol. 7 -
Southeast AsiaCall Number: REF ML100 .G16 1988 v.4 & CD3352 v.4 -
South Asia by Call Number: REF ML100 .G16 1998 v.5
The JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance
Produced by JVC in collaboration with a Smithsonian/Folkways Recordings and Multicultural Media, The JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance is a 30 volume DVD set, with nine accompanying booklets, containing over 500 performances from 100 countries.
World Regions: Africa--Caribbean--Central America--Central Asia--East Asia--Europe--Middle East/West Asia--North America--Oceania--South America--Southeast Asia
DVD1144, v. 1-30
DVD1141, bk. 1-9
Global Music Series from Oxford University Press
-
Music in Bali by Call Number: ML345.I5 G65 2005 & CD9796 -
Music in Central Java by Call Number: ML345.I5 B75 2008 & CD10004 -
Music in China by Call Number: ML336 .L28 2008 & CD10576 -
Music in Japan by Call Number: ML340 .W22 2005 & CD9470 -
Music in Korea by Call Number: ML342 .K867 2012 & CD12498 -
Music in Mainland Southeast Asia by Call Number: WT Young LIbrary: ML330 .D68 2010 & CD -
Music in North India by Call Number: ML338 .R83 2004 & CD10005 -
Music in Pacific Island Cultures by Call Number: ML3774 .D54 2011 & CD12526 -
Music in South India by Call Number: ML338 .V57 2004 & CD10002 -
Music in Turkey by Call Number: ML345.T8 B37 2011 & CD12493 -
Thinking Musically by Call Number: ML3798 .W33 2004 & CD8250
