Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUS 330: Music in the World: Asian Music: Find Books in UK's InfoKat

Fall 2019

Search Box Overview

This clickable image provides pop-ups explaining what each tab searches on the UK Libraries main search box.

search box on UK Libraries website

InfoKat

What can you find in InfoKat Discovery?

Search InfoKat Discovery to find resources owned by the University of Kentucky Libraries: books, journals, theses & dissertations, CDs, DVDs, links to ebooks, online journals, journal articles.

What about those online resources?

If the journal or book title you have searched is available online, you will see online access; Click on View Now  to see links to the full text.

Journal of the American Musicological Society

Full text available at: JSTOR Arts and Sciences III

  • Available from 1948 volume: 1 issue: 1Most recent 3 year(s) not available
  • Full text available at: JSTOR Current Scholarship Program CompleteAvailable from 2001 volume: 54 issue: 1

Full text available at: ProQuest International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text New Platform

Available from 1948 until 2012 volume: 65 issue: 3

Public notes:

  • FULL TEXT MAY BE SELECTIVE FOR SOME JOURNALS
  • Full text available at: ProQuest PAO Periodicals Archive Online Collection 3.2 Update New Platform
  • Available from 1948 until 2000

Subject Terms in InfoKat

Music Subject Headings:

   Communisim in music
   Feminism and music
   Feminist music
   Gender identity in music
   Homosexuality in music
   Masculinity in music
   Music and state
   Music and war
   Music in propaganda
   Music--Psychological aspects
   Music--Social aspects
   Music, Influence of
   Patriotic music
   Popular music
   Socialism in music
   Totalitarianism in music

Subject Headings for Ethnomusicology:

Type in a heading below and follow with the country/region OR language as indicated:

Dance music + country/region → Dance music--India

Folk music + country/region → Folk music--Mongolia

Folk songs + language → Folk songs, Chinese

Music + country/region → Music--Asia

Musical instruments +country/region → Musical instruments--India

Percussion music + country/region → Percussion music--Korea

Sacred music + country/region → Sacred music--China

Songs + language → Songs, Japanese

Carnatic music

Gamelan music

Koto music

P'i p'a music

Ragas

Shamisen

Taiko (Drum ensemble)

Throat singing

Call Numbers for Browsing

ML3469-ML3541 Popular music

ML3916-ML3918 Music--Social aspects

ML335   Stringed instruments

ML358   Flute family

ML379   Oboe family

ML533   Other, wind family

ML634   Zither family

ML634   Other, plucked

ML655   Percussion

ML724.5   Other, bu instrument

ML3740 -- ML3775   Asia

ML3746   China

ML3747   Taiwan

ML3748   India

ML3750   Japan

ML3752   Korea

ML3753   Korea (North)

ML3758.A783   Asia, Central

ML3758.M6   Mongolia

ML3758.T5   Thailand

ML3796 -- ML3799   Ethnomusicology

Searching for Music in InfoKat Discovery

Quick Tips for Searching InfoKat

Keyword Searching (the default search box)

  • Will search all the words you have entered, but not necessarily in the same order.
  • Use quotations to search phrases: e.g., "javanese gamelan"

Creator/Author Search (=composer, performer, ensemble)

  • Enter: last name, first name [case doesn't matter]

Title Search (in Advanced search or Browse search)

  • Enter as much of the title as you know.
  • Drop initial articles in ALL languages.
  • Best results if you search the musical title in its original language. (check Grove's)
  • Search song titles here in addition to the Keyword Search.

Subject Search (in Advanced search or Browse search)

  • Can search a person's name as a subject to find biographies and books about his/her work.
  • Check the subject headings of books that cover your topic and click the subject heading link to find more items on the same subject!

Advanced Search

  • Take advantage of limiters for material type, dates, etc.

Truncation

  • use the asterisk mark * for truncation  cultur*  will retrieve all of these terms: culture, cultures, cultural, and so on.

Overview of InfoKat

Watch this short video for an overview and tips to get the most out of our new discovery system, InfoKat Discovery. IKD includes our library catalog plus additional resources, including content from some (not all!) article databases and local digital collections.

Questions? Comments? Just Ask Us!

Book & Media Express

Don't feel like walking over to Young in the rain?

Book & Media Express offers the delivery of books from any campus library and media materials from the Young Audio Visual Services Media Library to a different campus library. It also provides delivery to pick-up locations for patrons needing any materials in InfoKat with the location "Storage - Click on Requests and select Book Express."

  • Access to the Book & Media Express service is through InfoKat Discovery.
  • From any record in InfoKat Discovery, click the Requests button to place a Book & Media Express order.

InfoKat Discovery Main Search Box