General
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryCollection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Please note: To limit your search to the contents of a specific title, select within this publication in the Quick Search box or choose Limit the results by publication title in the Advanced Search and type in the name of the resource you wish to search. Searches without limits include all resources in the GVRL.
- Oxford ReferenceQuick-reference coverage of a broad range of subjects. Brings together language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. Includes over 130 subject dictionaries covering everything from art to accountancy, politics to physics, and computing to classics. Quotations, 500+ full-color maps and flags, 12,000 images.
- SpringerLinkAccess to the full-text of journals published by Springer and other publishers. Divided according to field into the Online Libraries of life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics and astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, and economics.
Reference Resources in Philosophy & Religion
Reference sources can be a helpful place to begin and extend your research in philosophy and religion, offering introductory treatments and overviews of important ideas, people, and events. In addition, these resources often provide useful bibliographies and suggestions for further reading.
- Oxford Reference / Philosophy reference booksIncludes reference E-books important to the study of philosophy, with titles such as The Oxford Companion to Philosophy and the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages.
- Philosophy & Religion Collection (GVRL)Offers access to several authoritative reference works in philosophy and religion. (Select titles from this resource receive separate listings below.)
- eBook Collection (from EBSCOhost)A multi-disciplinary collection containing more than 42,000 E-books, including 2,000+ in the areas of philosophy and religion. Some reference sources are included.
- Encyclopedia of PhilosophyContains more than 2,100 entries -- including more than 450 new articles since the last edition. Additionally, the second edition also features 1,000 biographical entries on major figures in philosophical thought throughout history.
- Encyclopedia of ReligionSearchable full-text in 14 volumes, including more than 3,300 articles. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Paper Source
Librarian for Philosophy and Religion
Peter Hesseldenz
Contact:
W.T. Young Library
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0456
(859) 218-1840
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0456
(859) 218-1840
Oxford Bibliography
- Oxford Bibliographies in PhilosophyBibliographic "topic guides" to selected resources in Philosophy. Provides an introduction to the specialized literature on major and minor topics within Philosophy.