It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Artstor Digital Library is an extensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use. The collections feature visual media from museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. Sign up for a personal account linked to the UK Libraries subscription to save, download, and use the images in your research projects.
Lesbian Couple at Le Monocle, 1932
by Brassaï [pseudonym of Gyula Halász]
The Cleveland Museum of Art Collection
The Hunt for Vintage Lesbian Photograps
Vintage photographs of lesbians are highly valued and hard to come by. While not rare, there is not a large number of such images. There are small collections, restricted collections, personal collections, and unaccessible collections. Of those few collections available online, duplicates will be found at each site. Most often the women in the pictures will not be identified by name. Access to images not available online requires a personal visit to locations such as the Library of Congress, Lesbian Herstory Archives, and other locations that contain the personal archives of lesbians, such as the papers of lesbian activist Anna Rochester that is located at the University of Oregon. Contact the organization/library before your visit. Copyright restrictions and usage permissions are enforced.
Epic Gallery: 150 Years of Lady-Loving-Ladies in the U.S.
More than 100 images of lesbians in vintage photographs from various time periods. Must sign-in to Pinterest to view all images. Additional terms such as "African American" should be added to your query in order to view images of lesbians of color.
Eye to Eye: portraits of lesbians: photographs
Eye to Eye: portraits of lesbians: photographs by Joan E Biren
Publication Date: 1979
A compilation of photographic portraits. Prefaced has an overview of the history of women/lesbian photographers.
The Invisibles: vintage portraits of love and pride
The Invisibles by Sebastien Lifshitz
Publication Date: 2014
Collection of vintage photos of gay [and lesbian] couples privately and often secretly celebrating their relationships. This volume is a unique collection of photographs from 1900 to 1960.
Stolen Glances: lesbians take photographs
Stolen Glances by Tessa Boffin (Editor); Jean Fraser (Editor)
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Brings together much of the photographic work and debates surrounding the representation of lesbian sexuality. Ranges from portraiture, archival material and family album pictures to gallery work from major exhibitions.