It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Photography: Find articles in journals
find books and articles about photography and links to image databases
Indexes and abstracts (in English or French) articles (from over 4,800 journals), art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. Encompasses fine arts—painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture—as well as decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, and folk and popular art. Special subject indexing covers persons, places, institutions, buildings, works of art, and topical subjects, with most subject terms in both English and French.
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
The databases listed here are the best places to start your search for scholarly articles on art topics. They can be searched by keyword or subject. The results will give you the title and author of an article and the journal in which it can be found. Then you must locate the journal to read the article. Journal titles are usually in italics, followed by the volume and issue number and/or the date of the publication. The "View Now UK" button will provide alternatives for locating the article. If the journal is provided by our library, you will either have to find it on the shelf by searching InfoKat Discovery for its call number location or click on the online provider that is highlighted and underlined.