It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The DLB provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world-wide literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Access by keyword searching, author browsing, date of publication, subject collection, or DLB series.
Encyclopedic guide to literary theory and discourse, including a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most prominent figures, schools, and movements. It includes entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
The OED explores the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. Provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past, and traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Quick-reference coverage of a broad range of subjects. Brings together language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. Includes over 130 subject dictionaries covering everything from art to accountancy, politics to physics, and computing to classics as well as English dictionaries and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish, and Italian. Quotations, 500+ full-color maps and flags, 12,000 images.