It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full text of works by British women writers of the 19th century including anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books and volumes of poetry and verse drama.
Other Electronic Full-Text Resources for Victorian Literature
The University of Kentucky Libraries has access to a rich and varied collection of electronic books and databases focused on literature and the English language. You may discover the perfect resource for your research by browsing through this lengthy list.
The links below will direct you to a page describing the particular information resource with a link to access the resource if you choose.
Not finding what you need? Just ask us and we'll be happy to assist.
A collection of 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s. Major novelists of the period such as Austen, Scott, Mary Shelley, Dickens, Eliot, Hardy and the Brontës feature alongside popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children's literature.
Full-text of English, American and Canadian poetry, prose and dramatic works. Each literature collection has been developed with its own specialist editorial board to advise on the selection of texts and editions. Editorial policies may therefore vary from collection to collection; however, the guiding principles of authority, comprehensiveness and inclusiveness have been applied consistently. The general policy has always been to include either an authoritative collected edition for each author or first editions of individual works as appropriate.
Provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.
Encyclopedic guide to literary theory and discourse, including a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most prominent figures, schools, and movements. It includes entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Master index to the major literature products published by Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. Provides access to biographical and critical information.
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Explores the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. Provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past, and traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The Oxford Text Archive holds several thousand electronic texts and linguistic corpora, in a variety of languages. Its holdings include electronic editions of works by individual authors, standard reference works such as the Bible and mono-/bilingual dictionaries, and a range of language corpora. The Oxford Text Archive does not produce digital resources, and we rely upon deposits from the wider community as the primary source of high-quality materials.