Research Guides: International Business: Finding Articles

International Business - Databases & Electronic Resources

Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
One of the largest business databases, with indexing of academic journals, trade publications, and general business magazines. The database includes company and industry profiles, political risk yearbooks, OECD Economic Surveys, and Country Analysis Reports.
EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press. To search of articles on international economic subjects, type topic AND name of country (ex. Manufacturing AND China).
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Current news, global market activity, the latest business developments. Local, regional and international perspectives on business issues. Provides access to over 9,000 sources from over 150 countries, including newspapers, journals and magazines, newswires, and company reports.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes searchable, full-text of many general regional, national, and international newspapers, as well as many specifically devoted to business. Also includes a section on company dossiers (which includes the ability to produce lists of companies sharing certain characteristics), company profiles, SEC filings, accounting publications, and country profiles.
Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition)
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text (with abstracts) from ProQuest.

Wall Street Journal (various editions)
- This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition and Online Edition

JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Additional Resources for International Business Information

Doing Business
This free site, from the World Bank, provides a quantitative measure of regulations for starting a business, dealing with construction permits, employing workers, registering property, getting credit, protecting investors, paying taxes, trading across borders, enforcing contracts and closing a business -- as they apply to domestic small and medium-size enterprises for every country in the world.

OECD Papers
- This link opens in a new window
Provides recent research, analyses, forecasts, policy review, and statistics produced by the OECD. Covers macroeconomics; economic and industrial policies; and work in areas as such as employment, education, environment, trade, science and technology, aid and development, fiscal affairs, energy, agriculture, urban studies, and economies in transition. Not all publications are available.

Market Intelligence - from Export.Gov
Intended as an aid to U.S. business in foreign countries, this page offers links to Country Commercial Guides and the Market Research Library, which includes marketing information for countries around the world. Must create an account to access some of the information.

World Development Indicators (WDI) Online
- This link opens in a new window
Annual compilation of data about development, with access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for more than 208 countries and 18 country groups.
World Energy Outlook
- This link opens in a new window
(1994-2014) requires free registration.
Covers long term projections. Those volumes available in book format are on the Young Library, 4th floor, except the 2013 edition, which is in the Reference Collection: HD9502.A2 W6694

Finding a Known Article

If you are looking for a particular article, there are two places to look.

To see if UK has access to the article electronically, check the E-Journals A-Z list--you must search this list by the JOURNAL title, NOT the article title.

To find out if UK owns a paper copy of the article, check InfoKat Discovery. In InfoKat Discovery, you can search for the journal OR the article title.

If the article is not available either electronically or in paper, you can order it using our Interlibrary Loan Service.