It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Business: International Trade
A guide to resources for the study of international business.
This book presents a comprehensive view of recent developments in the theory of international trade agreements and political economy. This work introduces terms of trade effects and strategic behavior to the theory of international trade agreements. This is complemented by a careful analysis of how politics affects international trade agreements.
This work explores the behavior and decision making of small companies; their business strategies for launch, growth, and survival; and their contribution to the larger global economy. Utilizing information and data gleaned from proven entrepreneurs and small business operations, this reference provides insight into the political, environmental, and competitive forces that support and impede small business ownership, and offers strategies for navigating them.
This book combines comprehensive viewpoints and research on various business enterprises from around the world in companies of all sizes and models, discussing different aspects and concerns in the global business environment such as corruption, taxation, supply chain management, and economic impacts.
This book investigates analytical techniques suited to emerging market economies, which are typically prone to policy shocks. Describing the linkages between emerging and developed markets, it systematically explores several crucial issues in asset valuation and risk management. Contributors present new theoretical constructions and empirical methods for handling cross-country volatility and sudden regime shifts.
Non-profit that connects entrepreneurs around the world.
"We bridge the gap between resources and needs. Our goal is to use the expertise, equipment and resources that are available through US businesses to equip and empower projects and organizations that are striving to make a difference in the lives of others."
See COUNTRIES/TERRITORIES on the right of the top nav bar.
A drop-down menu allows you to select information on specific countries or regions and includes data on exports, imports, trade performance and consistency of trade.
Trade Map is free for users in developing countries and provides trade statistics and market access information for export development. By transforming the large volume of primary trade data into an accessible, user-friendly, web-based format, Trade Map provides indicators on export performance, international demand, alternative markets and the role of competitors. Trade Map covers yearly trade data for 220 countries and territories and all 5,300 products of the Harmonized System.
The UN Comtrade database contains more than 1.75 billion trade records starting from 1962. Free access to all of the data available in UN Comtrade database. For technical reasons there is a download limit of 50,000 records per query (without limitation on number of queries). Premium service (personalization feature and bulk download of millions of records/data streaming via web services) is available for a fee.
Access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 9,000 export commodities and 17,000 import commodities. USA Trade Online provides trade statistics using the Harmonized System (HS) up to the 10-digit level and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) commodity classification codes up to the 6-digit level.
The World Trade Organization (WTO) deals with the global rules of trade between nations. Its main function is to ensure that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible. The WTO's databases and publications provide extensive access to trade and tariff data.
Provides predefined data reports or "build your own query" reports by country, topic, or data source, as well as queries within both the International Financial Statistics (IFS) and Trade and Investment. Also includes the IMF Data Mapper which allows you to plot, compare, and import data from countries and regions. Data is drawn from:
International Financial Statistics – international and domestic finance, with history to 1948.
Direction of Trade - value of exports and imports between countries and their trading partners, with history to 1980.
Balance of Payments - international economic transactions data and International Investment Position, with history to 1960.
Government Finance Statistics - budgetary and extra-budgetary financial operations data of governments, with history to 1990.
Statistical annual showing a range of key statistics for OECD member countries and major additional countries. For each indicator presented, there is explanatory text including a definition, explanation of long-term trends, and references; a table showing the indicator over a significant time span for all countries covered, and graphics showing the key messages contained in the data. Under each table is a link to an Excel spreadsheet enabling the user to access the data.
Economic research and statistical work contributes to knowledge generation in ADB and help strengthen its institutional priorities and effectiveness of country operations. It also allows ADB to provide informed policy advice and undertake capacity building.
Global trade is of vital interest to citizens as well as policymakers, yet it is widely misunderstood. This compact exposition of the market forces underlying international commerce addresses both of these concerned groups, as well as the needs of students and scholars.
Preferential trading arrangements (PTAs) play an increasingly prominent role in the global political economy, two notable examples being the European Union and the North American Free Trade Agreement. Yet despite the importance of PTAs to international trade and world politics, until now little attention has been focused on why governments choose to join them and how governments design them. This book offers valuable new insights into the political economy of PTA formation.
Noted economist and China expert Michael Pettis argues that we are undergoing a critical rebalancing of the world economies. Debunking popular misconceptions, Pettis shows that severe trade imbalances spurred on the recent financial crisis and were the result of unfortunate policies that distorted the savings and consumption patterns of certain nations.