It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Business: Background Information
A guide to resources for the study of international business.
Over the past two decades; the nature of international marketing has faced huge change. Increasingly challenged with the unprecedented emergence of globally integrated, yet geographically scattered activities multinational marketing has had to respond accordingly. The SAGE Handbook of International Marketing brings together the fundamental questions and themes that have surfaced and promises to be an essential addition to the study of this critical subject area. In an internationally minded and detailed analysis, the contributors seek to examine the state of the art in research in international marketing, with particular emphasis on the conceptual framework and theory development in the field.
As a rapidly rising force in the global market, Asian countries hold opportunities for growth and development. However, in order to successfully gain entry into this new part of the market, it will first be necessary to understand the motives and background behind Asian economies. Asian Business and Management Practices: Trends and Global Considerations analyzes the various strategies found in the Asian economic market. Showcasing a broad range of countries in Southeast Asia in addition to China and India, this publication is a broad, widely encompassing resource for academics, PhD students, experts, policymakers, and government officials interested in understanding the background and applications behind business success in Asia.
Latin America has long held an important role in international economics and continues to attract attention as the region faces restructuration and implements new business conceptions. As a result, Latin America continues to experience economic growth, which further affirms the regionâe(tm)s great potential for future business endeavors. Business Development Opportunities and Market Entry Challenges in Latin America provides a practical, in-depth look at the different challenges and opportunities present in the Latin American economy. This text is of use to policymakers, managers, academicians, researchers, advanced-level students, technology developers, and government officials in furthering their research exposure to pertinent topics in market entry and business development in the region. This publication guides the reader to an understanding of the Latin American region both theoretically and practically through a collection of chapters concerning microfinance, political trust, opportunities and challenges for entrepreneurial activity, public-private academic cooperation, and poverty in Latin America.
This title is the most complete source of Canadian information available on cultural, professional and financial institutions, legislative, governmental, judicial and educational organizations. It provides names and addresses of contacts throughout the network of Canadian institutions.
This series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various business topics. This volume offers an introduction to the financial, legal, and practical factors that influence international business.
Discusses China's reform strategy to promote capital accumulation through a gradual adjustment of its relative price system, enabling the industrial capital to obtain higher profits and greater potential of economic growth.
Identifies three building blocks that have contributed to China's success: decentralization, an encompassing state, and volitional pragmatism. Discusses the interplay between these three factors that has shaped China's reform trajectory.
Investigates analytical techniques suited to emerging market economies, which are typically prone to policy shocks. Describing the linkages between emerging and developed markets, this collection systematically explores several crucial issues in asset valuation and risk management.
Chronicles the history, development and current status of the world's most lucrative and high profile industries. Each entry covers size and economic/social impact of the industry; its organization and structure; its history and development; major countries and companies involved (including rankings); size and nature of the work force; and research.
This work explores the behavior and decision making of small companies; their business strategies for launch, growth, and survival; and their contribution to the larger global economy. Utilizing information and data gleaned from proven entrepreneurs and small business operations, this reference provides insight into the political, environmental, and competitive forces that support and impede small business ownership, and offers strategies for navigating them.
Covers the transformation and evolution of China's state-owned and non-state enterprises. Highlights the entrepreneurial spirit of the Chinese populace in the face of the drastic changes that have occurred in China's economic system since the outset of economic reforms in the late 1970s.
The European Commission is a detailed and comprehensive guide to the workings of the European Commission. This straightforward and accessible new title de-mystifies procedures, practices and policies, which, up until now, have been perceived by many as baffling and oblique.Written in a style that is both uncomplicated and user-friendly, the authors equip readers with all the information about the background of the Commission; its administrative structure; its policies; external relations; and general and internal services.Packed with numerous handy tables and figures, The European Commission will serve to help readers to gain a full understanding of how the machinery of the Commission functions and how the daily work processes are carried out. This is both an essential and fascinating handbook for all those working in the political arena.
Captures the essence of Yu Minghong's personal philosophy towards life and business. Illustrates the lessons he has learned in life and how he has applied them to his corporate success in modern China.
This series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various business topics. This volume offers an overview of the underlying concepts of mergers and acquisitions and examines the effects that markets can have on such procedures as well as on other elements of the global economy.
In the modern globalized economy, it is important for businesses of all sizes to take advantage of the opportunity to enter diverse markets around the world. Through an international presence, organizations can remain competitive. The Handbook of Research on Global Business Opportunities combines comprehensive viewpoints and research on various business enterprises from around the world in companies of all sizes and models, discussing different aspects and concerns in the global business environment such as corruption, taxation, supply chain management, and economic impacts. This handbook is an essential reference source for business executives from both large and small firms, business scholars, researchers, academics, students, and professionals.
As businesses seek to compete on a global stage, they must be constantly aware of pressures from all levels: regional, local, and worldwide. The organizations that can best build advantages in diverse environments achieve the greatest success. The Handbook of Research on Global Competitive Advantage through Innovation and Entrepreneurship explores the emergence of new ideas and opportunities in various markets and provides organizational leaders with the tools they need to take full advantage of those opportunities. With a focus on economic growth in a fast-paced environment, this handbook is a critical reference for business leaders, economists, and students of economic theory.
Globalization demands the creation of new business approaches to achieve high levels of competitiveness. Cultural differences factor into policies as companies expand their businesses in different countries and seek to collaborate with international entrepreneurs. The Handbook of Research on Internationalization of Entrepreneurial Innovation in the Global Economy brings together research on international business, entrepreneurship, and innovation in order to present a comprehensive publication for business professionals. This volume is an essential reference source for practitioners, academicians, researchers and upper-level students interested in learning about internationalization and innovation in a global market.
A series of volumes that provide histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location. For students, job candidates, business executives, historians and investors.
International Business - General Reference Print Books
Written for high school or beginning undergraduate students, this four-volume reference valiantly attempts to provide a historical framework for the perhaps overly broad concept of world trade. Entry topics were selected on trade organizations, influential people, commodities, events that affected trade, trade routes, navigation, religion, communication, and more.
From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this two-volume encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies provides students and business leaders with a thorough understanding of the current and historical economic development of approximately 200 foreign nations. Clearly arranged by country within broad geographic regions, the Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies provides accurate, in-depth analysis of each country's economic environment, reliable statistics on the country's current economic conditions and trends and key demographics of the nation's citizens.