It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reimagining Russia's Realms : Newspapers
Guide to provide resources to support the A & S year of study on "Reimagining Russia's Realms" as part of the Passport to the World program.
Newspapers are an excellent primary source for many areas of study. UK Libraries provides access to a number of newspapers from the region through databases and news services. UK Libraries also has a number of newspapers in print and microfilm. You can find those titles through InfoKat Discovery.
Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics. Includes a virtual keyboard that allows you to type in the Cyrillic alphabet.
Founded in 1949, the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press. Each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. Coverage through 2006.
Nexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.