It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reimagining Russia's Realms : Research Help
Guide to provide resources to support the A & S year of study on "Reimagining Russia's Realms" as part of the Passport to the World program.
A wide range of services that provide translation for languages other than English.
Introduction to Searching for Information on Former Soviet Countries
The focus of the A & S Passport series for 2012/13 is on the former Soviet Republics. The integration and interplay of the arts, history, literature, religion, geography, the social and environmental sciences, mathematics, engineering, and technology in these countries provide a wealth of opportunities for areas of research and study. UK Libraries has a rich and deep collection in these areas of studies and a number of librarians with the expertise to help you with your information needs. This page is intended as a starting point and not a comprehensive resource for you information needs on this vast topic.
Additional Sources for General Information
The sources listed below provide scholary information on a variety of subjects.
Covers a broad range of subjects. Indexes over 8,000 publications; almost 7,000 are scholarly journals (3,900 in direct full-text); full-text available for issues of almost 5,000 publications overall. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Includes an Image Collection.
Over two centuries on-line for full-text searching of the London publication, more than 7 million articles, from 1785-1985. Widely recognized as the source for authoritative reports on politics, law, business and society.
Contains non-English full-text news sources from around the world, including non-English major newspapers, magazines and trade publications that are relied upon for "accuracy and integrity of their reporting."
Contains citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. Covers 1915-present.
Lists all subject specialists (academic liaisons) by discipline with their contact information.
The subject specialists (academic liaisons) are librarians who know the resources in a specific subject. UK Libraries has a number of discipline focused librarians who are ready to help you. The librarians are available by appointment and the list below provides the names of the specialist for the listed discipline along with contact information.
Description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world from a series of books published between 1988 and 1998. Each study offers a description and analysis of the country or region's historical setting, geography, society, economy, political system, foreign policy, and national security.
Comprised of a general assessment, a series of short reviews on each OECD member country, some reviews on key non-member economies, a set of thematic chapters focusing on topical economic issues, and a statistical annex which provides a set of macroeconomic data for the OECD member countries.
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is the intergovernmental organization that oversees the global financial system by following the macroeconomic policies of its member countries, in particular those with an impact on exchange rate and the balance of payments. Includes country statistics.