Leading Linguistics Journals
These journals are available online, and some may have print issues as well. The link leads to the catalog record.
Open Access Journals
"Open access journals" operate under a funding model that provides content free to readers and institutions. The open access journals listed in the DOAJ are peer-reviewed, research-oriented, and operate as numbered, dated serials appearing at regular intervals.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowThe DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are welcome to apply for inclusion.
Key Indexes and Abstracts in Linguistics
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Coverage includes phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics, descriptive an historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary content covering over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. Current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 - ), Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975 - ), and Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - ).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text journal backfile collection. Browse "Linguistics."
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Available from Johns Hopkins University Press. Also browse by "Language and Linguistics."
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowOffers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) This link opens in a new windowLists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world; unpublished doctoral dissertations are covered for the period 1920 - 1999. A number of items published between 1892 and 1919 has been indexed retrospectively.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowCombines into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. In addition to searching by author, title keywords, subject terms and author addresses, you can also search by the specific references and works (e.g., art works, musical scores, books) the articles cite. Links to Cited References and Times Cites (with links to the citing article if it is included in the database) are available in each record. A&HCI covers nearly 1,600 core journals plus selected articles from social science and scientific publications that are relevant to arts and humanities topics; total coverage includes over 7,900 journals. Topics include Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Folklore, Radio, Television, Film, History, Religion, Language and Theatre. Access via Web of Science Core Collection.
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIncludes references to U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses, with detailed abstracts. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Many of the publications also provide the full-text of the first 24 pages. Most of the dissertations entered since 1997 are full-text.
- DART-Europe E-theses Portal (DEEP) This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 130,000 full-text theses from over 200 universities in Europe. Provides researchers with a single European Portal for Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs). DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia working together to improve global access to European research theses.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new windowConsists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of ERIC document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 1,000 journals. Both files provide abstracts. In addition, ERIC now contains over 2,200 ERIC Digest records that feature the full-text of the original document. Also provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Part of the KyVL database collection.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and journals of philosophy and related fields, covering the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Limited to four concurrent users.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new windowProvides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in nearly 2,800 scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Available via Web of Science Core Collection. Restricted to 15 simultaneous users.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowFrom the American Psychological Association. Contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 24 languages. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Part of the KyVL database collection.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
How to Get Full-Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.
Cited Reference Searching
The Cited Reference search in Web of Science Core Collection or Academic Search Complete searches the footnotes/endnotes of journal articles. This is very helpful when you need to track down the references to a particular author or article.