Information on Pests
This page provides information and links for both animal, insects, and other pests found in Kentucky gardens.
UK Libraries' Resources for UK Employees and Affiliates
Please note that some of these resources may require a UK LINKBLUE ID and password, or they can be accessed by visiting any UK Library.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, and the remaining ten percent describe monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, theses, patents, software, and technical reports.
- InfoKat Discovery This link opens in a new windowInfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.
- Plant Management Network This link opens in a new windowCooperative resource for the applied plant sciences. Includes searchable database comprised of web-based resource pages from the network's partner universities, companies, and associations.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
Borers
- Emerald Ash Borer FAQs for KentuckiansDescribes the effects, infestations, and other problems associated with the Emerald Ash Borer.
- Emerald Ash Borer Information Network: Infomation for HomeownersIncludes treatment considerations, treatment options, and product descriptions.
- Insecticide Options for Protecting Ash Trees from Emerald Ash BorerThis OSU, Michigan State, Purdue, West Virgina and Illinois Universities' publication includes FAQs, insecticide options, using insecticides, and effectiveness of insecticides.
- Maple Petiole BorerThis UK publication provides information on the symptoms, biology, and control of Maple Petiole Borers.
- Borers That Attack Landscape PinesThis UK publication provides introductory information about borers, specifically that of Landscape Pines.
- Squash Vine Borer-UTThis University of Tennessee publication provides information on the damage made by, appearance, lifestyle, and appearance, the natural enemies, physical control, cultural control, and chemical control.
Pest Newsletters Database
The articles contained in the KY Pest News newsletter are submitted by the University of Kentucky College of Agriculture Entomology, Plant Pathology and Weed Science Cooperative Extension Specialists for a variety of pests including insects, diseases and weeds. The KY Pest News Newsletter is published weekly during the peak growing season and bi-weekly the remainder of the year.
You can subscribe to the Newsletter and receive it in your email or view it online.
Insects
- Ant Control for HomeownersThis links you to UK's Entomology Department's webpage. Information can be found about ant characteristics, management, and indoor/outdoor nesting habits of ants. Info about the Odorous House Ant (most diffcult in KY) can also be found here.
- Bed BugsThis UK publication provides descriptions of bed bugs, their habits, their bites, and health concerns. Attention is also paid to infestations originate, controlling infestations, where they hide, preparation for treatments, descriptions of treatments (heat, steam, encasement, insecticides), and prevention.
- BagwormsThis publication provides descriptions and habits of bagworms as well as information on the control of them. Includes insecticide information.
- Carpenter AntsInformation about carpenter ants' biology, habits, control, and when to call a professional, and prevention are all discussed on UK's Department of Entomology's webpage.
- ChiggersThis UK publiciation describes chiggers as well as ways to protect yourself, prevention, control, reducing discomfort after bites, and their life cycle.
- Cockroach EliminationThis fact sheet provides information and images about cockroaches found in home infestations as well as information on insecticidal baits and boric acid for control.
- CricketsThis links you to the University of Kentucky' Department of Entomology's Kentucky Critter Files. Provides introductory information about crickets, including life cycle, ecology, status as pests, and links to factsheets. Images and descriptions of common crickets can be found here as well.
- Cucumber BeetleProvides the biology of cucumber beetles, information about bacterial wilt, and the management of cucumber beetles.
- Eastern Tent CaterpillarThis UK publication offers information on the biology and mangament of Eastern Tent Caterpillar.
- Fruit FliesThis publication provides information on fruit flies biology and behavior as well as the prevention and eradication of fruit flies.
- Periodical Cicadas in KentuckyThis UK publication offers descriptions of cicadas, a chart of emergence, protection for trees, life cycle, and physcial descriptions of periodical cicadas, annual or dog-day cicadas, and locusts.
- Mosquitoes: Pratical Advice for HomeownersThis UK publication provides information on the biology of mosquitoes as well as controlling mosquitoes. Includes topics such as breeding site reduction, larval control, adult mosquito control, exclusion, personal protection from bites, canine heartworm, and associated diseases.
- Sowbugs and PillbugsThis publication provides general information about sowbugs and pillbugs as well as controlling infestations. Sealing pest entry points, minimizing mositure, and insecticides are all covered.
- Southern Pine BeetlesThis UK publication offers introductory information about southern pine beetles as well as general information on infestations and the management of infestations (short and long term strategies).
- Two-Spotted Spider MitesProvides introductory information about the two-spotted spider mites as well as the management of them.
Spiders and Snakes
- Snakes: Information for Kentucky HomeownersThis publication provides introductory information on Kentucky snakes as well as snake biology, habitat, identification of poisonous snakes (with maps), list of the beneficial aspects of snakes, controlling snake problems (including habitat modification and snake-proof fences).
- Kentucky Snake Identification PageThis website is provided by UK CAFE and Forestry departments and was designed to allow county extension agents, educators, homeowner, gardener, camper, birdwatcher, students, tourists, and other interested individuals to make field identification of snakes easier.
- Eliminating Spiders Around Homes and BuildingsProvides a description of different types of poisonous spiders found in Kentucky and how to control them.
- University of California Statewide Pest Management-SpidersProvides information on identification of spiders, varieties, and management of spiders.
- Common Spiders Found Around Homes And BuildingsProvides information on common spiders found around Kentucky Homes and Buildings. Includes Wolf Spiders, Funnel Web Spiders, Fishing Spiders, Jumping Spiders, Crab Spiders, Sac Spiders, Cellar Spiders, Orb Weavers, Cobweb Spiders, and Brown Spiders.
Food Pests
- Common Pests of Solanaceous PlantsIncludes information on the Physiological and Nutrient Disorders, Insect Pests, Diseases, and Herbicide Injury in solanaceous plants.
- Natural Enemies of Vegetable Pests in KentuckyIncludes information like: Natural Enemies of Vegetable Pests on Your Farm, True Bugs, Praying Mantids, Lacewings, Beetles, Flies, Wasps, Spiders, Diseases of Insect Pests, and Purchasing and Releasing Natural Enemies.
- Corn Earworm Management in Sweet CornIncludes basic information on Corn Earworms and controlling their devastating affects.
- Corn Earworm on Sweet Corn-UTThis University of Tennessee publication offers information on the damage, description of and life cycle, control in both home and commercial settings, and resistant varieties.
Bees, Wasps, Yellowjackets, and Hornets
- Carpenter BeesProvides information on the information about carpenter bees as well as controlling them.
- Controlling Wasps, Hornets, and YellowjacketsThis UK Extension publication offers information about hornet,s wasps, and yellowjackets and manners in which they can be controlled. Images are also provided.