Information on Vegetables
This page provides information on vegetable gardening, including tomatoes, corn, and beans. Problems for vegetable gardening are also located here.
UK Libraries' Resources for UK Employees and Affiliates
Please note that some of these resources may require a UK LINKBLUE ID and password, or they can be accessed by visiting any UK Library.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, and the remaining ten percent describe monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, theses, patents, software, and technical reports.
- InfoKat Discovery This link opens in a new windowInfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.
- Plant Management Network This link opens in a new windowCooperative resource for the applied plant sciences. Includes searchable database comprised of web-based resource pages from the network's partner universities, companies, and associations.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
Vegetable Gardening
- Home Vegetable Gardening in KentuckyThis publication provides information on the Plans and Preparations, Planting, Growing More with Less Space, One Garden Plot: Three Garden Seasons, Caring for Your Vegetables During the Growing Season, Diseases, Insects and Weeds, Storing Vegetables, What You Should Know about Asparagus through Watermelons.
- The Fall Vegetable GardenThis Purdue University publication provides information on planting, frost protection, and a planting guide for fall vegetable gardens (in a chart format).
- Garlic and Elephant GarlicThis extension publication provides introductory information on garlic as well as information on marketing, marketing outlook, production considerations, economic considerations, and further resources.
- Vegetable Production Guide for Commerical GrowersProvides an introduction to vegetable production as well as information on general production, insect management, weed & disease management, asparagus, beans, cole crops, sweet corn, eggplant, greens, okra, onions, peas, peppers, potatoes, rhubarb, root crops, southern peas, sweet potatoes, tomatoes, and vining crops.
Tomatoes
- Vegetables for Wellness: Kentucky TomatoesThis UK Cooperative Extension publication offers information on the growing season, nutritional facts, selection, storage, preparation, and recipes for tomatoes.
- TomatoesThis UK Extension publication offers information on marketing, marketing outlook, production considerations, and economic considerations for growing tomatoes.
- Late Blight Cornell University Cooperative ExtensionThis leaflet provided by Cornell University's Cooperative Extension offers information on the Late Blight, a serious disease of tomatoes and potatoes.
- Organic Management of Late Blight of Potato and TomatoOffers an introduction to Late Blight as well as information on planting and protection of plants from Late Blight.
- Managing Late Blight in Tomato and Potato – An Essential Part of GardeningThis Cornell University' Extension publication offers information on the disease and pathogens of Late Blight and 12 steps for managing Late Blight.
- Vegetable Diseases - Late Blight of Tomato and PotatoThis Purdue University publication provides information on the disease cycle, symptoms, and management of Late Blight.
- Tomato Late Blight in Small Farms-- NC State University Cooperative ExtensionThis site provides information about Late Blight in small farms as well as 8 publications to aid in the understanding, management, and prevention of Late Blight.
- Managing Late Blight in TomatoesThis University of Wisconsin-Madison publication provides an introduction to Late Blight as well as information on the management, organic and conventional production, and a FAQ.
Problems for Vegetables
- Problems for Cucurbit Crops in KentuckyThis manual is the result of efforts of the University of Kentucky Vegetable IPM team and provides information on Physiological and Nutritional Disorders, Insect Pests, Diseases, and Chemical Injuries.
Corn
- Common Problems for Sweet Corn in KentuckyThis manual is the result of efforts of the University of Kentucky Vegetable IPM team and provides information on Physiological and Nutritional Disorders, Insect Pests, Diseases, and Herbicide Injury to corn.
Cherry Tomatoes
