Information on Trees
This page provides information on a variety of trees and diseases effecting trees.
UK Libraries' Resources for UK Employees and Affiliates
Please note that some of these resources may require a UK LINKBLUE ID and password, or they can be accessed by visiting any UK Library.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, and the remaining ten percent describe monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, theses, patents, software, and technical reports.
- InfoKat Discovery This link opens in a new windowInfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.
- Plant Management Network This link opens in a new windowCooperative resource for the applied plant sciences. Includes searchable database comprised of web-based resource pages from the network's partner universities, companies, and associations.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
Landscape Trees
- Pruning Landscape TreesThis publication provides reason why pruning is necessary, necessary tools, step by step instructions on how to properly prune trees, when to prune, treatment of cut areas, and age related pruning. Many images are provided.
- Trees, Shrubs, Ground Covers, & Vines Suitable for Kentucky LandscapesThis publication's purpose is to simply list plants that perform adequately in Kentucky. This publication by no means extensive, but an excellent introduction to growing plants in Kentucky.
- SweetgumProvides identification of Sweet Gum trees with links to other useful resources. From Virginia Tech Dept. of Forest Resource.
- Lexington Kentucky Street TreesThis Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government, Division of Forestry, and Forestry Service pamphlet provides an all-you-need-to-know guide to planting street trees in Lexington and Fayette County. A list of both approved and prohibited street trees, descriptions of care, maintenance and responsibility, and information on obtaining a permit are all provided.
- Tree Topping is Hazardous to Your Tree's HealthThis UK pamphlet offers information on what tree topping is, why people top their trees, why topping is so damaging and dangerous to your trees, and a list of alternatives to tree topping.
Tree Diseases
- Anthracnose Diseases of Shade TreesThis UK publication describes Anthracnose Diseases in shade trees in Kentucky. Special attention is paid to ash, dogwood, maple, oak, and sycamore trees due to the severity of the disease in these species. Symptoms, spread, and control are also highlighted.
- Dogwood Powdery MildewThis UK publication provides information on powdery mildew found on dogwoods in Kentucky. Symptoms and signs, causes and disease development, effects of disease, and disease management are also discussed.
- Wounds and Wood Decay of TreesThis UK publication provides introductory information about wounds and wood decay of trees. The associated problems and the ultimate effects are highlighted. Special attention is paid to the control and prevention, proper pruning, treatment of incidental and old wounds, and sanitation. Images are provided.
Leaf Diseases
- Bacterial Leaf ScorchThis UK publication provides an introduction to Bacterial Leaf Scorch. Symptoms, causes & spread, host range & location, and disease management are highlighted. Images are also provided.
- Leaf Diseases Caused by Fungi and BacteriaThis UK publications provides introductory information to both fungi and bacterial leaf diseases. Introductory information for Leaf Spots, Leaf Blights, Rust, Powdery Mildew, and Downy Mildew is provided.
Flowering Trees
- The Flowering CrabappleThis links you to a UK publication about crabapples. Diseases such as Apple Scab, Fire Blight, Cedar-Apple Rust, and Powdery Mildew are discussed as well as maintenance and insect problems.
- The Flowering DogwoodThis UK publication provides information about one of the most popular trees in Kentucky--the dogwood. Attention is paid to stress factors for the tree, borers that harm the dogwood, diagnosis & control, and other diseases (blights, mildews, Anthracnose, canker, etc.) and control.
Nut Trees
- Nut Tree Growing in KentuckyThis UK publication provides a table on planting distances and first harvests, types of nuts grown in Kentucky, when to plant seeds, how to plant the trees, how to fertilize, how to prune, instructions on irrigation, mulching, and weed control, sunscald and rodent protection, pollination, cultivar recommendations for Kentucky.
Fruit Trees
- Growing Tree FruitsThis is from the Kentucky Master Gardener Manual Chapter 16. Included topics are planning, pruning terminology, planting and fertilization, irrigation, fruit thinning, harvest and handling, insect and disease management, and pruning.
- Rootstocks for Kentucky Fruit TreesThis UK publication describes available rootstocks for apple, cherry, peach, pear, and plum trees suitable for Kentucky fruit tree growers.