It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Master Gardeners: General
Resource guide for Kentucky Extension Master Gardeners and the community.
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Citations and abstracts of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, and the remaining ten percent describe monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, theses, patents, software, and technical reports.
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.
This UK publication describes composting, the benefits of composting, how decomposition happens, basics of composting, acceptable and unacceptable materials, composting structures, and uses for compost.
Describes the science of composting, provides information on managing the decay process, how to make compost, how to use compost, describes worm bins: A way to compost food wastes to avoid pests, FAQs about worms, provides health and safety tips, and how to troubleshoot.
This UK publication provides introductory information on managing household waste, including why it is important, how to purchase long-lasting and re-usable products, how to understand product packaging, buying items with recycled content, how to recycle, what composting is and does, and important notes on burning household waste and waste dumping. Contacts and references are given for Kentucky laws and other resources to start living a "green" life (how to dispose of tires, motor oil, batteries, pesticides, and other chemicals).
This UK publication describes pond dynamics, water quality, basic principles of fish pond management, pond construction and watershed management, fish removal, pond fertilization, process of liming before fertilization, when and how to fertilize, species selection and stocking, evaluation of pond balance, weed control, potential problems, and enhancement techniques.
This UK publication and the simple and inexpensive ways in which rain barrels can be added to your home. Includes: benefits of rain barrels, description of how to build a rain barrel (parts and tool lists are included), provides images alongside instructions, how to install and manage overflow, how to connect multiple barrels, what maintenance is required, and other essential information.
This UK publication presents basic guidelines for understanding and managing the heating, condensation, air circulation, and ventilation of plastic-covered greenhouses for tobacco transplant production.