It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
19th Century Periodicals: Reference Books
A guide to finding 19th Century periodicals covering a variety of topics.
Includes the tables of content for a number of Victorian journals (with the exception of poetry).
To find book reviews, consult the journals published during the time period of the book’s publication.
The index also lists all the articles by a given contributor by contributor name, and a pseudonym listing contributors’ real identities (when known).
Call Number: Z1225.W38 1996 Young Library – Reference (2nd floor)
Publication Date: 1996
This index covers 11 prominent American literary magazines (among them the Atlantic Monthly, Harper's, Scribner's, and the North American Review) and is alphabetically arranged by author’s name. Over 750 major (Melville, Hawthorne, Twain, James, Poe, Irving, Whitman, Stowe) and minor authors and some 7,000 titles are included, with citations for general subjects including the novel, poetry, American literature, women, Darwinism, and drama and theatre.
Young Library - 3rd Floor
A series of selected portions of the Index to early American periodical literature.
We have the following five parts:
Part 1: The list of periodicals indexed
Part 2: Edgar Allan Poe
Part 3: Walt Whitman, 1819-1892
Part 4: Ralph Waldo Emerson, 1803-1882
Part 5: French fiction
Young Library – 5th floor
This research aid covers a variety of topics, including finding lists for 19th century periodicals, histories of specific publications, how to identify authors, and serialized novels.
Call Number: Z1249.S6 A57 Young Library - Reference
Publication Date: 1980
Index of letters sent to 19th century antislavery publications. An annotated list of letters is presented chronologically with a brief description of the contents. Data about represented journals include journal location, years of publication, and names of editors.
Volume 1: Annotated index of letters in The Philanthropist, Emancipator, Genius of Universal Emancipation, Abolition Intelligencer, African Observer, and The Liberator, 1817-1845
Volume 2: Annotated index of letters in The Liberator, Anti-slavery Record, Human Rights, and The Observer, 1835-1865
Volume 3: Annotated index of letters in The Friend of Man, Pennsylvania Freeman, Advocate of Freedom, and American & Foreign Anti-slavery Reporter, 1836-1854.
Volume 4: Annotated index of letters in The National Anti-Slavery Standard, 1840-1860.
Volume 5: Annotated index of letters in The National Anti-Slavery Standard, 1861-1871.
Young Library – Reference
Contains a list of British periodicals published specifically for female readers, including each periodical’s dates of run, place of publication and publisher, editor/s, and any organizational sponsors.
The bibliography also includes a list of articles on women in British periodicals presented alphabetically by journal and chronologically by article.
This is a combined print retrospective index covering the years before the online indexes America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts began. In this 11-volume index to roughly 250 English-language periodicals, the first nine volumes are arranged by subject category and keyword, while the last two volumes are arranged by author.
Young Library – Reference, 15 volumes
Provides author and title access to more than one million book reviews from the backfiles of over 450 scholarly history, political science, and sociology journals. Covers books published both in and outside the United States.