It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historical Statistics: U.S. Statistics by Subject
This guide is designed to help students and researchers find historical statistics sources.
Digitized copy of a complete Immigration Commission report published in 1910. The report’s data series includes number of immigrants, countries of origin, race and sex distributions, U.S. destinations, occupations, and financial status.
U.S. Census Bureau’s data series include total immigration figures, language/s spoken, places of origin, and other demographic statistics relating to the foreign-born population of the United States from 1850 to 1990.
Features sixteen U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics’ data series, including household employment data by race, age, and gender; educational attainment; unemployment figures; and full-time/part-time status.
This online repository collects quantitative data sets for the study of American religion. Includes surveys of the general population and religious groups. Additionally, ARDA includes international statistics of major religions represented worldwide.
This website provides a list of online calculators and data sets for determining prices, exchange rates, and inflation rates for several countries, although the majority of the focus is on the United States and the United Kingdom. Data sets date from the 17th century to the present.
Administered by the Economic History Association, this website includes a wide variety of historical economic statistics from the United States and several other countries.
The section, “How Much is That?” http://www.measuringworth.com, allows the comparison of money and goods at different periods in history.
Provides annual statistical information on the U.S. banking industry beginning in 1934. Data series cover national and state level statistics, the number, structure and income of financial institutions; and the loans, liabilities, investments and deposits of banks.
Consists of a compilation of datasets created by individual scholars. The data include exchange rates, prices, and wages in specific geographic regions. Data sets are limited, as are search options, but this tool is useful for medieval economic research.
Young Library, Reference Collection.
Colonial Era to the Civil War.
Includes a record of the costs of thousands of items purchased by American consumers from 1600 to 1865. Features include standard salaries, significant economic events, and investments.
Prices and Incomes in the United States.
Records the actual prices of thousands of items that consumers purchased from the Civil War to the present, along with facts about investment options and income opportunities.
Provides historical statistics for American education for the period 1870 to 1990. Covered statistics include general education characteristics of the population, as well as select demographic and economic indicators.