It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historical Statistics: International Statistics
This guide is designed to help students and researchers find historical statistics sources.
This online database, administered by the International Programs Center of the U.S. Census Bureau, includes data since 1950 for population, age, sex, vital statistics, literacy, and migration rates of over 200 countries around the world.
This online UN source provides economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories. Data series date from 1947 and include monthly, quarterly and annual data on population, production indices, price indices, employment and earnings, energy, manufacturing, transport, construction, merchandise trade, and finance and national accounts.
Statistical data published by U.S. federal and state governments, U.S. private organizations, and international intergovernmental organizations is indexed, abstracted, and presented. Search by topic or browse featured topics. Much of the included statistics are current, but some data sets date from 1780. Most data sets are U.S.-specific, but international statistics are also featured.
Access to social science data files from U.S. government and national and international reporting agencies. Most data are current, but some data sets include historic statistics. ICPSR account registration is required for most data file downloads. Using data files requires statistical software (e.g., SAS, SPSS, Stata).
Provides key economic and social indicators for the last 254 years for countries on the American continent, serving as an essential reference source for both hard-to-find historical data and the latest figures available, and as an indispensable tool for comparisons between countries and across time.
Compilation of primarily economic data of European countries from various sources. Although some of the data dates from the Middles Ages, most of the data are more consistently available from 1750. In addition to economic data sets, population, agriculture, industry and education data are covered.
Provides key economic and social indicators for primarily the last 250 years for countries on the African and Asian continents and Oceania, serving as an essential reference source for both hard-to-find historical data and the latest figures available, and as an indispensable tool for comparisons between countries and across time.
Call Number: HA1134 .M58 1988 Young Library – 4th floor
Publication Date: 1988
Includes data series dating primarily from the 18th century to 1980, although some series date to the 16th century. Economic, labor, agricultural, transport, communication, and vital statistics are included.
Divided into 16 sections, including agriculture, population, vital statistics, transportation, and trade, this book presents data sets dating from the 18th century to mid-20th century. Each section features an introduction and bibliography.
Call Number: HA745 .H57 1983 Young Library – Reference
Data sets date from the 19th century and are divided into subject areas, including population, vital statistics, manufacturers, and transportation. Each data set includes explanatory descriptions and information about data sources.