It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Jewish Studies: Holocaust Studies
A guide to history and culture resources in Jewish Studies.
Offering a multidimensional approach to one of the most important episodes of the 20th century, The Columbia Guide to the Holocaust offers readers and researchers a general history of the Holocaust while delving into the core issues and debates in the study of the Holocaust today.
The Holocaust Encyclopedia is the only comprehensive single-volume work of reference providing both a reflective overview of the subject and abundant detail concerning major events, policy decisions, cities, and individuals.
This single volume traces three approaches to the studyof the Holocaust - through notions of history, theories of memory, and a focus on art and representation. It introduces students to the different ways we have come to understandthe Holocaust, gives them an opportunity to ask questions about those conclusions, and examines how this event can be understood once all the survivors are gone.
This massive, four-volume work provides students with a close examination of 10 modern genocides enhanced by documents and introductions that provide additional historical and contemporary context for learning about and understanding these tragic events.
Forward-looking and multi-disciplinary, this handbook draws on the work of an international team of forty-seven outstanding scholars.The handbook includes topics on the broad and necessary contextual conditions for the Holocaust, groups involved, the agency of Nazi leaders, politics and ethics, education and religion, national identities and international relations, the prospects for genocide prevention, and the defense of human rights.
This encyclopedia offers detailed entries on the various ghettos into which the Jews of Eastern Europe were confined during the Holocaust. Entries on each ghetto are written by scholars and specialists on their topic and include location, wartime name, and geographical coordinates, and, for the larger ghettos, information on life before World War II and during the Soviet occupation era, German (Nazi) occupation, ghetto structure, institutional life and leadership, terror and killing operations, underground resistance, and the number of survivors at liberation.
The Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature profiles 128 of the most influential first generation authors who either survived, perished, or were closely connected to the Holocaust. Avenues for further research are incorporated at the conclusion of each entry and in a comprehensive bibliography of primary works of Holocaust literature and a second bibliography of critical studies of Holocaust literature.
Holocaust Literature identifies the most important works on the Holocaust, by both first- and second-generation survivors as well as philosophers, novelists, poets, and playwrights reflecting on the Holocaust today. Reviews of the classics of Holocaust literature are arranged alphabetically by title and cover the essential literature of the subject.
Covering the entire spectrum of the literature of the Holocaust era, from the beginnings of Nazism through the concentration camp experience, survivor syndrome and second generation response, this detailed survey includes entries on more than 200 authors and 300 works.