Welcome!
Welcome to the Leisure Reading Libguide! If you are looking for a good book to read, this is the place for you!
As an academic library, our collection is primarily scholarly, but there are books for all types of readers throughout the shelves! So regardless of genre or topic, there is most likely a book for you at UK Libraries, both for academic research and pure pleasure.
New fiction in UK's collection
New fiction titles in our collection.
Click on a book to see if it is available to check out!
Popular Reading Collection
|
Introducing our new Popular Reading Collection in the Young Library atrium's Reading Nook! The collection includes mysteries, thrillers, horror stories, science fiction, romance, and more. We have nearly 1000 titles that you can browse near the atrium steps or search via InfoKat Discovery. Books in the Popular Reading Collection can be checked out for 28 days. Our Leisure Reading Guide provides book lists and recommendations for popular fiction and non-fiction. Looking for more book recommendations? Check out NoveList, a fiction database with reviews of over 125,000 titles. |
 |
Where is this book?
While much of UK libraries print collection is available in Young Library, it is possible that the book you are looking for is in another library, or even in storage. Regardless of the location, UK students, faculty and staff, as well as community members with a library card can check out books. It is even possible to have a book sent to a campus library closer to you to pick up, using Express Delivery Services.
Book Not at UK?
As the University of Kentucky Library spends the majority of the budget on academic and course materials, the library may not have some of the leisure reads you may be interested in reading. If you are interested in a book that UK Libraries does not own, try the Lexington Public Library or your local public library. Another option is Interlibrary Loan.
What are WE reading right now?
Peter Hesseldenz
My main interests are books about music and mystery/crime novels. Some of my favorite music writers are Robert Palmer, Peter Guralnick, Simon Reynolds, Jon Savage, and Greil Marcus. I love the 33 1/3 series about the making of classic albums. I am currently working my way through the major classic hard-boiled detective novelists including Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett, Ross MacDonald, Chester Himes, and Jim Thompson.
Karyn Hinkle
I love reading contemporary fiction and memoir 📚
Here are some titles about those college-, grad school-, and right-afterward- ages that we are surrounded by and living through here on a college campus :)
The Idiot by Elif Batuman (and its sequel Either/Or)
Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi
In the Dream House by Carmen Maria Machado
Such a Fun Age by Kiley Reid
Crying in H-Mart by Michelle Zauner
- Visual & Performing Arts Librarian Karyn Hinkle
Jennifer Hootman
I enjoy reading science fiction, memoir, historical fiction and nonfiction, and pretty much anything in graphic novel format. - Digital Humanities and Academic Liaison to History Librarian
Graphic Novel Recommendation: March Trilogy by John Lewis
Kate Seago
Callie and I are enjoying Mercedes Lackey's Reserved for the Cat. Callie, of course, has her own collection of cat books, while I enjoy authors that retell myths, fairy tales and legends in new and thoughtful ways.
Off the Shelf
Take a look at these recommendations from our UK Libraries staff blog, Off the Shelf!
Also check out our blog articles featuring new library employees. We always ask them about their favorite books!
Around UK's Campus
"What are UK faculty reading this summer?"
August 2021 A&S faculty in UKNow
"What are Wildcats reading on World Book Day?"
April 2022 World Book Day in UKNow