Skip to main content

Opera: Scores

Online Resources at UK : Classical Scores Library

Music Online: Classical Scores Library contains more than 53,000 works of music by over 4,600 composers from the Middle Ages through the 21st century. All works can be printed for free and include public domain works as well as works currently under copyright.

Finding Scores in the Library : Call Numbers

You can use the LC call numbers below to browse the shelves for opera scores. Within each call number works are arranged alphabetically by composer, then by title.

M1500     Full scores
M1503     Piano-vocal scores
M1505     Excerpts with original accompaniment
M1506     Excerpts with arranged accompaniment (orchestra or other ensemble)
M1507-M1508      Excerpts with arranged accompaniment (keyboard)

 

To search by call number in InfoKat Discovery, follow these steps:

Finding Scores in the Library : Subject Headings

Use the following subject headings to search for opera scores:

Operas
Operas 17th century
Operas 18th century
Operas 19th century
Operas 20th century
Operas 21st century
Operas 2-piano scores
Operas Excerpts
Operas Piano scores

Follow the steps above when using the Browse search. To use the advanced search and include a composer's name, follow these steps:

Other Online Resources : Eastman School of Music


UR Research
at the University of Rochester has almost 2,000 opera scores from the collections at the Eastman School of Music.

Other Online Resources : Harvard University


Harvard Library's Digital Scores and Libretti
contains manuscripts and rare early prints of operas.

Other Online Resources : University of North Texas


UNT's Digital Library--Scores
provides access to nearly one hundred 18th-century opera scores.

Other Online Resources : Gallica


Gallica
is the digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
Link to the original French-language site.

Other Online Resources : Das Opernprojekt


Scores and librettos from the collections of the Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek, der Staats- und Landesbibliothek Dresden, der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek, und dem Thüringischen Landesmusikarchiv make up the 500 manuscripts of the Opera in Italy and Germany between 1770 and 1830 project.

Other Online Resources : Internet Culturale


The Internet Culturale portal, developed by Italy's Ministry of Cultural Heritage and Acrtivities (MiBAC), provides access to collections in Italy's state libraries, public institutions, and cultural institutions.

Other Online Resources : IMSLP


International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) contains thousands of scores and recordings. The site operates under Canadian copyright laws.

  • 138,000 works · 16,699 composers · 506 performers
  • 450,000 scores · 9,354,209+ pages · 53,000 recordings

Other Online Resources : Hathi Trust


You can access over 7,000 scores at HathiTrust. Click here to execute a search for opera scores at HathiTrust.

Other Online Resources : CPDL


ChoralWiki: The Choral Public Domain Library hosts free scores of over 30,120 choral and vocal works by over 3,000 composers. You can also find texts and translations,

Other Online Resources : Online Opera Scores Prototype (Indiana University)


Part of Indiana University's VARIATIONS Project, the Online Opera Scores Prototype contains full scores and piano-vocal scores to several operas.

Other Online Resrouces : Internet Archive


Searching for scores at the Internet Archive may require some filtering of your results (all those choices on the left-hand side of the screen), but the Archive contains over 2,000 scores of opera, opera selections, and opera arrangements.