Skip to main content

Opera: Premieres and Archives

Premieres : Opening Night!

 

Hosted at Stanford University Libraries, Opening Night! "is an attempt to assemble and make accessible in one place every opera and oratorio premiered through 1995."

As of 2018, the database currently contains a cross-index of data for over 42,000 opera and oratorio premieres.

Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database


The Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database at Indiana University describes complete, abridged, and excerpted nationally and regionally distributed TV productions of operas, operettas, and musicals produced in the United States. The database is an on-going research project.

Grove Music Online : 100 Operatic Premières Timeline


Grove's Timeline of 100 Operatic Premières is not a comprehensive timeline but a chronological overview, representing all historical styles of opera and including all the major works.

Archives : Glyndebourne


Glyndebourne's Performance Archive
contains information on performances dating back to 1934.

Archives : Lyric Opera of Chicago


See the Lyric Opera's Performance & Cast Archive which begins with the 1954 season.

Archives : Metropolitan Opera


The Met Opera's Archives Database has a Repertory Report, which lists works by number of performances and a Performers Report, which lists performers and conductors by number of performances.

Archives : National Negro Opera Company

The National Negro Opera Company, the first African-American opera company in the United States, was founded in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in 1941, by Mary Cardwell Dawson. The collection contains materials and records related to the company and to Dawson. It includes correspondence, administrative and financial records, photographs, programs, promotional and publicity materials, scrapbooks, clippings, address books, notebooks, music, and books. In addition, the collection contains materials related to opera singer La Julia Rhea, who performed with the company, and Walter M. Dawson, Mary Cardwell Dawson's husband, who worked for the company.

Archives : Royal Opera House


The Royal Opera House's Collections Online Performance Database gives varying amounts of information about cast. It does provide links to other ROH collections for sets, designs, photographs, and more.

Archives : San Francisco Opera


The San Francisco Opera's Performance Archive begins with the 1923-24 season.

Archives : Teatro alla Scala


Information about opera and concert performances at La Scala since 1950; includes chronologies, casts, playbills, librettos, synopses, discographies, and thousands of images.

Archives : Teatro La Fenice


The Historical Archive of La Fenice contains posters, photographs, opera & symphony scores covering more than two centuries of the theater's history.