Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Opera

Images

Sketch. Berta's dress. Rossini's Barber of Seville

Music Division, The New York Public Library. "Barber of Seville : Costume : Berta" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1985. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/906fa240-c5e2-0132-0980-58d385a7bbd0

Fury costume design

British Museum. "Hipermestra : Costume : Fury." Drawn by Stefano della Bella. 1658. https://www.britishmuseum.org/collection/object/P_1887-0502-59

Robert le Diable : Character

Metropolitan Museum of Art. "Louis Gueymard (1822-1880) as Robert le Diable."  Painted by Gustave Courgbet. The Met : European Paintings." 1857. https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/436015https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/436015

Giuseppe Verdi & Friends

Europeana. "Verdi and friends at Monte Catini ." Photo by Tempestini.1899.
https://www.europeana.eu/en/item/9200518/ark__12148_btv1b84255190?lang=en

Drury Lane Theatre

Metropolitan Museum of Art. "Drury Lane Theatre" Etched by Thomas Rowlandson.1808. https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/744434

New York Public Library

New York Public Library Digital Collections.

Click here for the NYPL Digital Collections Permissions Terms & Conditions.

Metropolitan Museum of Art


Search for images of holdings in the Met related to opera.

DPLA : Digital Public Library of America

DPLA contains almost 30 million digitized images, texts, videos, and sounds from institutions across the US. View the item at DPLA or click through to the holding institution.

TDPLA's terms & Conditions of use.

Europeana

Europeana contains over 50 million digitized items from over 10,000 cultural institutions in 27 EU countries. View the item at Europeana or click through to the holding institution.

Europeana's Terms of Use.

Paris Musées


Over 150,000 open-content, high-definition digital images available can be found at Paris Musées.

RIdIM

Répertoire International d’Iconographie Musicale (RIdIM) is an international index of visual sources of music, dance, theatre and opera.

The Royal Opera House Collection Online

Material in the ROH Collections records the history of the three theatres that have stood on the Covent Garden site since 1732, and the performances that they have housed. The Collections are particularly comprehensive from 1946 and cover all activities including the work of the resident companies (both at Covent Garden and on tour), ROH2 and visiting companies.