Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Opera: Journals, Articles, & Dissertations

Opera Journals

ILLiad InterLibrary Loan

Use ILLiad to get an article that UK does not own, and it's free! All you need to do is set up an account using your LinkBlue credentials, or you can ask library staff for help.

Click here to login to ILLiad or to set up a new account.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a shared digital library, which currently includes more than 2,000 core academic journals along with monographs and other materials.

For more information about searching JSTOR, click here to see "JSTOR" in the Music Research Guide.

Music Index

The Music Index is a citation index to music periodical literature and provides articles, book reviews, and obituaries.

For more information about searching Music Index, see  "Music Index" in the Music Research Guide.

Music Periodicals Database

The Music Periodicals Database (formerly IIMP) provides access to more than 200 full-text titles, and citations from more than 600 international music periodicals.

For more information about searching the Music Periodicals Database, see "Music Periodicals Database" in the Music Research Guide.

Oxford Bibliographies in Music

Oxford Bibliographies in Music provides access to articles written and reviewed by top scholars in music. Articles contain bibliographies with links to UK Libraries' holdings.

RILM

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes from journals, dissertations, Festschriften, conferences, and other resources from around the world.

For more information about searching RILM, see "RILM" in the Music Research Guide.

RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) provides access to eighteenth-, nineteenth- and twentieth-century periodical literature dealing with music.  RIPM focuses on music and musical life from approximately 1800 to 1950.

For more information about searching RIPM, see "RIPM" in the Music Research Guide.

Dissertations : At the University of Kentucky

For dissertations written by UK graduates, check INFOKAT. Search for dissertations just as you would a book. Here's an example using "Advanced Search." 

  • Leave the Search for button at Search, that way you will pull up theses and dissertations available in print in the libraries and online at UKnowledge.
  • Be sure to put quotation marks around "University of Kentucky" -- this will give you better search results.
  • You can substitute any term for opera such as staging, voice, singing, etc.

Searching Techniques : Boolean Operators

 Each database is a bit different, but if you know Boolean operators and other advanced techniques, your search results will be more relevant. Here is a brief introduction to Boolean operators.

 

Searching Techniques : Advanced

Below are links to advanced searching tips and information for the databases listed on this page from the Music Research Guide.

JSTOR

Music Index

Music Periodicals Database

RILM

 

Searching Techniques : Advanced

Many of the databases listed on this page have documentation, videos, and even webinars about searching. Below are some links from the companies. Also, look for "Help" icons or "Support" links when you are in a database--these are often in the toolbar at the top of the screen.

JSTOR

EBSCOhost (includes Music Index, RILM, & RIPM)

Oxford Bibliographies in Music

ProQuest (includes Music Periodicals Database)