Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Tutorials: Tool-Specific

An assortment of tutorials, videos, and tools to help students use library resources

Instructions

The tools and tutorials below highlight specific resources (like InfoKat Discovery, for example) that can be embedded or linked to in your course.

Overview of InfoKat Discovery

This short video provides an overview of InfoKat Discovery, which is UK's library catalog plus additional resources, including content from some (not all!) article databases and local digital collections.

Recommended For: Students (or anyone unfamiliar with InfoKat Discovery)

​URL: https://libtutorials.uky.edu/IKDoverview/

Length: 2 mins

Screen shot from InfoKat Discovery overview video

LibX & "Reload via UK" tools

Unfortunately, the LibX Browser Extension is no longer being actively developed and, while pervious installations may continue to work, it is no longer available for new users to install.  One of the best features of LibX was the ability for us to configure a version that would allow users to reload a web page using the UK Libraries proxy settings, providing access to articles and resources paid for by UK Libraries.  UK Libraries is providing a new bookmarklet for that same functionality.  To add the bookmarklet to your browser, drag the button below to your bookmark bar:

Reload via UK

(If your browser's bookmark bar is not visible, you will have to make it visible.)  To use this new tool, simply click on the bookmark ("Reload via UK") whenever you are visiting a web page for a library resource that you found through Google rather than by visiting our page.  That will reload the page with our proxy string, prompting you to log in with linkblue, if you’re not logged in already, and giving you access to the resource. 

Note that the bookmarklet may not work for some resources or with some browsers.  The tool will only provide access to resources we have license to access.  You may also want to consider installing Kopernio, which is another browser extension designed to facilitate access to library resources.  

​Recommended For: ​Anyone who would like to access library services

Length: N/A

Kopernio Browser Extension

Kopernio is a free browser extension that facilitates one-click access to the full-text of research articles.  

Kopernio finds available PDFs by searching both open access articles and the University of Kentucky Libraries journal subscriptions to find you pdf versions of an article. Then with one click you can access the pdf.

Caution: Kopernio works with certain databases and internet search engines such as: Google Scholar, Web of Science,  PubMed.

LibKey Nomad - original is from 'Research & Publishing in Health Sciences"

LibKey Nomad

What is LibKey Nomad?

LibKey Nomad consults the UK Libraries holdings data to know if and where an article is available. You can install LibKey Nomad to your browser and access library collections (articles, journals, etc.) within one click. It even works when off campus!

LibKey Nomad also offers privacy safeguards, in that it:

  • doesn’t require a personal account;
  • doesn’t cache article requests or EZproxy credentials; and
  • is only active when a user is on the website of a scholarly publisher or database (i.e., PubMed, CINAHL).

Install the Extension

  1. Download the extension from https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad.
    • Screenshot of LibKey on Chrome Web Store
  2. Type in and select the University of Kentucky as your institution. 
    • Screenshot of LibKey Nomad Dashboard
  3. That's it - now explore sites, search databases, and access via journal websites. 
    • Screenshot of LibKey Nomad Selection Saved

 

Assignment Calculator

The Assignment Calculator ​can be used to help students stay on track when going through the research process. 

​Recommended For: ​Students

​URL: http://www.uky.edu/~kraemer/calc2/

Length: N/A

Labeled Graphics

We can create labeled graphics to help your patrons understand database interfaces, search results, etc. Here are a few examples:

New PubMed Search Results

New PubMed Article Citation

Dentistry and Oral Sciences Search Results

Also see the boxes below for examples of the website search box and various labeled graphics for Academic Search Complete.

Academic Search Complete Search Results

This clickable image provides pop-ups explaining important elements of search results within Academic Search Complete.

Recommended For: Anyone

Length: N/A

Academic Search Complete Search Results

Academic Search Complete View Now

This clickable image provides pop-ups explaining important elements of a search result containing the View Now button within Academic Search Complete.

Recommended For: Anyone

Length: N/A

Academic Search Complete Search Results

Academic Search Complete PDF

This clickable image provides pop-ups explaining important elements of a search result containing a PDF of the article within Academic Search Complete.

Recommended For: Anyone

Length: N/A

Academic Search Complete Search Results

Finding a Known Item

This 90 second video shows how to find a specific article and a specific book. Often library users need to find articles and books on a topic, so the process of finding a specific item might be less familiar.

Recommended For: Students

URL: https://youtu.be/bX58ooGPOfo

Length: 1:37