Film Resources
Listed here are some examples of what UK Libraries has in their databases for horror film in particular. This will examine periodicals, journals, books, and documentaries that you can use when researching horror. Also discussed will be topics of what you can focus on when writing about horror, and where you can find more information for your topics.
Horror Books
Recreational terror : women and the pleasures of horror film viewing.
Call Number: Online
Published: 1997
The dread of difference : gender and the horror film
Call Number: PN1995.9.H6 D74 2015
Published: 2015
Horror film : a critical introduction
Call Number: PN1995.9.H6 L388 2018
Published: 2018
Horror Articles and Journals
3 Rounds with Chucky - An "interview" with the famous killer from Child's Play, Chucky.
Do you Want to Watch? A Study of the Visual Rhetoric of the Postmodern Horror Film - Explores the psychological aspect of why we watch slashers and the questionable misogyny of the final girl trope.
Marketing, Monsters, and Music: Teensploitation Horror Films. - Explores 'teensploitation" in horror film through teen consumerism, the Hays code, and rock and roll music.
The French Horror Film Martyrs and the Destruction, Defilement, and Neutering of the Female Form. - Examines Martyrs through two lenses: the effect on the audience and the symbolism of the story, mainly through the role of the female body.
What Some Ghosts Don't Know: Spectral Incognizance and the Horror Film. - Looks at horror films in which, in the final moments, the protagonist finds out they have died, and argues that the film is a prolonged dying process.
The Foolkiller Movie: Uncovering an Overlooked Horror Genre. - Describes the concept of the "foolkiller" in slasher films, and brings about a new way to examine the motivations of killers.
Gangs and guilt: Towards a new theory of horror film. - Examining horror through the lens of child gang horror films, it argues that horror creates guilt as opposed to fear in it's audience.
The Cold War Horror Film: Taboo and Transgression in The Bad Seed, The Fly, and Psycho. - Examines Cold War horror films.
Reference Resources
- Film Studies DictionaryListing of terms and definitions for words and phrases used both in the academic study of film and in the specialist, often technical, language of the film industry. Contains no entries for individual people. Aimed at students of film and media who are likely to encounter a wide range of specialist language in a variety of places.
- New Historical Dictionary of the American Film IndustryA dictionary of American producing and releasing companies, technical innovations, industry terms, studios, genres, and organizations.
- The Film IndexAn inclusive bibliography covering the world of film that is a good source for period reviews and reflections of period values and ideals. Entries are divided into categories such as film history, techniques, and types of film. Covers a wide range of publications – including both books and periodicals.
- Dictionary of Cinema Quotations from Filmmakers and CriticsA compilation of quotations from filmmakers and critics. Arranged by topic and indexed by filmmaker, title, and keywords.
Film Catalogs
- American Film Institute Catalog of Motion Pictures Produced in the United States(1911-1950, 1961-1970)
Each volume alphabetically lists the feature films produced in the United States during the years covered. Each entry includes credits, a synopsis, and appropriate subject headings. The index volumes allow users to search for films by genre, geographic location, and personal names.
- AFI CatalogThe American Flim Institute's catalog contains detailed information about every theatrically released feature film between the years 1893 - 1993. For films released after 1993, basic information is included.
- Halliwell's Film and Video GuideListing of films with short synopsis, major credits, availability on DVD/Video, and a 0-to-4 star rating. Appendixes list Academy Award winners as well as 3 and 4 star movies. Earlier editions are available.
- Magill's Survey of CinemaA four volume set that analyzes films from 1927-1980, providing plot synopses and critical discussion on production, acting, direction, script, and cinematography.
- Motion Picture GuideA 10 volume set covering films from the years 1927-1984, with vol. 10 devoted to the silent film era. Includes a description, cast and credit information, and a rating (1 to 4 stars) for each film. Features entries for most English speaking films, as well as many foreign language films.
Scholarly Criticism
- Oxford Bibliographies Online - Cinema and Media StudiesProvides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
- MLA International Bibliography
This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. - Literature Online
- This link opens in a new window
Contains reviews from several film journals, many with full-text. Search in "Criticism and Reference" for best results. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes several scholarly and popular film journals with some full-text options. A good source for film reviews, scholarly material about films, and information on the film industry. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Includes a "Film Studies" section that features back-files of several film journals. Also, some of the journals in the "Language and Literature" section cover film. - Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
Contains many film related reviews and analyses. Dates range from 1975 - present for articles; 2000 - present for abstracts. - Project Muse
- This link opens in a new window
Includes indexing for several important film journals from 1964-2006. For best results, use the "Advanced Search" to find article titles and authors or browse by journal title in the "Film, Theater, and Performing Arts" discipline category. - Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
- This link opens in a new window
Archived back-issues of several film-related journals with full-text. Dates range from 1802-2000. For best search results, search by keywords in "Article Search" or for journal title in "Find Journals." A list of film journals can be found in "Find Journals" under the "Performing Arts" subject. - Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes several scholarly and popular film journals with some full-text options. On the EBSCOhost platform.
