Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to use. . . .: Database Search Help

Look here for guidance in using specialized tools and collections as well as instructional aids for specific databases or research generally. Not sure what you need? Just Ask Us, then!

 

What do those little icons mean?

UK user or on-campus access

lock icon

Access to this resource is restricted to current UK faculty, staff, and students or users who are on campus. If you are off-campus, you'll be prompted to log in with your linkblue credentials.  Ask Us if you need help or have questions.

Free Access resource

Free resource

This resource is freely available to anyone.  Free registration may be required, and some aspects of the site may not be free.

Tips for searching for databases

In spring 2021, we are transitioning to a new search page to help you find online resources (databases).  Remember that Subject and Course Guides are also very useful in finding recommended databases.  You can also Ask Us anytime you need help.

Search tips for the new A-Z search page:

  • The top bar includes options to search by database name or browse by Subject or Database Type.
  • Once you conduct a search, the options in the top bar are searching WITHIN YOUR SEARCH RESULTS.  Use the blue "Clear filters/Browse all Databases" button to reset the search
  • Search supports truncation.  Searching for ART* will find records for art, artist, and more.  (Searching for ART will just bring up records that match that term exactly.)

Research and Course Guides are also a great way to find databases!  Most guides have a tab that lists recommended databases in that subject or for that course.