Current Events in the News
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This link opens in a new window
Current event topics--the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors. Browse list of topics to find one that interests you. - CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. - Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Click "Hot Topics" on the lower left to find a list of hot topics: current research topics covering key global issues in business, economics, crime, politics, science, health, sports, the arts. and more.
Other Databases Mentioned in Class
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Statista integrates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from over 22,000 sources onto a single platform, providing researchers direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. It also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks.
Academic Search Complete Research Database
You can find articles from magazines, newspapers, and academic journals on a wide range of subjects in Academic Search Complete.
New York Times
Interested in accessing the New York Times online? UK provides access to students, faculty, and staff. Sign up below with the first link, and use the second link to access it after registering.
- New York Times Digital Edition (New Users)
This link opens in a new window
You must register for an account through this link. Once you register, you have access to the New York Times website through the University of Kentucky. - New York Times Digital Edition (Registered Users)
- This link opens in a new window
Once you have registered for an account through the new user link, you have an basic digital access subscription to the New York Times through the University of Kentucky. This subscription includes unlimited access on NYTimes.com, archives (dating back to 1851) (5 PDF article downloads from Times Machine per user per day); augmented reality/virtual reality (found in the App), daily 360 content, podcasts, all multimedia, newsletters, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese versions of NYTimes.com, and unlimited access to The New York Times in Education website and The Learning Network.
Wall Street Journal
Interested in accessing the Wall Street Journal online? UK provides access to students, faculty, and staff. Sign up below and use the link for access.
- Wall Street Journal (Digital Edition)
- This link opens in a new window
UK Libraries and the Student Government Association (SGA) have partnered with the Wall Street Journal to provide school-sponsored memberships to all students, faculty and staff. Through the partnership, members have full digital access to WSJ.com and through the app. Additionally, curated career content can be found at students.wsj.com. Activate your membership through this link.
Potential Current Event Topics
|
|
More Resources
The Public Policy research guide provides more good sources for researching public policy issues.
Our Federal Government research guide includes a great deal of information about researching particular laws or for government information about policies or social issues.
Track Current Bills
See which bills are on the floor, including who is submitting it and the history of the bill itself.
Bills to be Considered on the House Floor
You can narrow your search by month and day and then see a PDF file of the bill you are interested in.