Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ICT 150: Experience ICT: Finding Journal Articles

For ICT 150 Fall 2019

Introduction

The information below will help you find articles for your Annotated Bibliography Assignment.

Selected Databases

Listed below are several databases to help you get started with your research, though you'll want to consult others based upon your topic. Keep in mind that you can also look through all database subscriptions at UK to find others that may be helpful.

Academic Search Complete Search Results

This clickable image provides pop-ups explaining important elements of search results within Academic Search Complete.

 

Academic Search Complete Search Results

 

Find Other Databases

UK subscribes to over 400 databases in a variety of disciplines. You'll likely find what you need your first year in Academic Search Complete, but it's good to know about the databases in your area of interest. Research Guides provide the key databases in every discipline plus relevant reference books and other library resources related to the subject.

Searching the database of databases allows you to find databases by their name or subject area(s). From the library's main website, you can also choose the Databases tab on the search box and find a drop down box of the most frequently used databases at UK.

Finding a Known Item

What if you are asked to find a specific article for class? This 90 second video will detail how to find a specific article and a specific book at UK Libraries.

How to Get Full-Text

When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to links for the full-text of the article or let you know that we do not have electronic full-text for that article.

If the full-text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a hardcopy of the article or request an interlibrary loan (ILL), if needed.

Frequently Asked Questions about View Now

Having trouble? Ask Us for help.

Google Scholar

 

 

It's a great idea to check Google Scholar along with other databases. Follow these instructions to connect Google Scholar results to UK's full text holdings.

.