It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arabic & Islamic Studies: Databases for All Languages
Contemporary AuthorsProvides biographical information on modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists, and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, addresses, career history, writings, work in progress, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and essays about their lives and work. The Revised Series contains updated and revised entries on current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
Dictionary of Literary BiographyProvides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world-wide literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Access by keyword searching, author browsing, date of publication, subject collection (American literature, Asian literature, Australasian literature, British literature, Canadian literature, European literature, Latin American and Hispanic literature, Renaissance and Reformation, World literature, or DLB series. Search by full-text keyword or browse by author, volume title, publication date, subject grouping (American literature, Asian literature, Australasian literature, British literature, Canadian literature, European literature, Latin American and Hispanic literature, Renaissance and Reformation and World literature) or DLB series.
Something about the AuthorProvides insights into many countries' cultures, as authors from many countries are included. Provides illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and artists, ranging from established award winners to authors and illustrators just beginning their careers. Entries typically cover personal life, career, writings, works in progress, adaptations, and additional sources. Also includes Something About the Author: Autobiography Series.
Biography, History, Humanities
Art IndexIndexing of over 600 periodicals, more than 13,000 art dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions, providing examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. Includes a database-specific thesaurus and covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
Arts and Humanities Citation IndexMultidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. In addition to searching by author, title keywords, subject terms and author addresses, you can also search by the specific references and works (e.g., art works, musical scores, books) the articles cite. Access via Web of Science Core Collection.
PAIS IndexThis database focuses on political, social, and economic conditions, foreign affairs, and human rights. Great for literature as a mirror of political and social conditions.
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsInternational focus on politics, social conditions, and human rights. Great resource for international perspectives on the interplay between political conditions and literature.
For example, search for "sociolinguistics", "politics AND literature", or "trauma AND poetry" and see the differences in database coverage.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers various aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
MLA International BibliographyThe gold standard for language & literature research: MLA International Bibliography is the major index for publications on all languages and literatures, from the Middle Ages to the present. Indexes articles, books and dissertations. MLA regularly reviews over 4,400 journals for articles that fall within the work's scope.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismEncyclopedic guide to literary theory and discourse, including a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most prominent figures, schools, and movements. It includes entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Literary Criticism from Literature OnlineIncludes all critical indexing and full-text from Literature Online, including: (1) ABELL (The Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature), (2) Full-Text Journals, (3) New Essays on the American Novel, (4) Cambridge Companions to Literature.
Literature OnlineSearchable full-text of over 350,000 works of English, American, and worldwide poetry, drama, prose together with full-text journals, author biographies and other critical and reference resources. Search or browse Authors, Texts, Criticism, and Reference Materials. Also includes Literary Criticism.
JSTORSearchable full-text journal backfile collection, going back to each journal's first issue. Covers all research topics. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals Database.
Project MuseSearchable full-text access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. (Johns Hopkins University Press).
Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)Includes references to U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses, with detailed abstracts. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Many of the publications also provide the full-text of the first 24 pages. Most of the dissertations entered since 1997 are full-text.
Academic Search CompleteExcellent resource for starting research spanning multiple topics, with many full-text articles. This multi-disciplinary full-text database has more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.