It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Streaming Media at the University of Kentucky Libraries: Streaming video in the arts
Streaming classical music service that enables listening and learning on campus and home computers. Includes c. 15,000 recordings, along with program notes, composer biographies, and images cross-referenced to the recordings.
Streaming (64K and 20K) classical music service that provides access to a collection of nearly 76,000 CDs. Offers the complete catalog of Naxos recordings, including the Naxos, Marco Polo, and DaCapo catalogs, plus jazz and world music. Also available are online texts of opera synopses, librettos, and a pronunciation guide. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.Please note: Limited to 11 simultaneous users.
A vast collection of music streaming files. American Music includes contemporary folk/roots/Americana music, early rock & roll, soul, funk, R&B, doo-wop, boogie-woogie, early Biograph recordings, blues, jazz, gospel, spirituals, disco, blues-rock, reggae, bluegrass, country, rockabilly, and honky-tonk.
Streaming music site that includes c. 65,000 tracks of jazz from over 6,000 albums with over 12,000 jazz artists (as of Feb. 2012). The music is drawn Blue Notes Records, 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz and over 150 other labels. Select works by featured artist(s), disc / song title and catalogue number. New jazz releases are continually added. Please note: Limited to two simultaneous users
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a virtual collection of the world's musical and aural traditions. Comprised of thousands tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds, this streaming encyclopedia provides listeners with a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
Streaming Resources : UK Libraries: Audio : DRAM
Database of Recorded American Musicor DRAM, is an audio streaming service with complete liner notes and essays. Focus is on American composers and features the following labels: New World Composers' Recordings (CRI; complete catalog), Albany Records, Cedille records, Deep Listening, Frog Peak Music, Mode Records, and others.
Streaming Resources : UK Libraries : Video & Audio : Met Opera on Demand
Met Opera on Demand includes more than 100 previously broadcast Live in HD performances, over 80 previously broadcast televisions performances, and over 450 radio broadcasts dating back to 1935.
Streaming Resources : UK Libraries : Audio : Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library includes all major genres from medieval to contemporary periods. Currently the site has over 75,000 albums with more than 1.2 million tracks.
ProQuest, the parent company of Classical Music Library, has created a Classical Music Library Guidethat describes the database and gives tips on searching and how to create playlists.
Streaming Resources : UK Libraries : Other Video
You can also find opera performances and documentaries in streaming resources that are not limited to music or opera. Some of the below databases only have a handful of titles, but you might find just what you're looking for!