It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 180: Great Movies: Introduction to Africana Film Directors: Information about African Films
A guide to library resources for ENG 180. Fall 2019.
Collection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Please note: To limit your search to the contents of a specific title, select within this publication in the Quick Search box or choose Limit the results by publication title in the Advanced Search and type in the name of the resource you wish to search. Searches without limits include all resources in the GVRL.
Quick-reference coverage of a broad range of subjects. Brings together language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. Includes over 130 subject dictionaries covering everything from art to accountancy, politics to physics, and computing to classics. Quotations, 500+ full-color maps and flags, 12,000 images.
Searches the content of reference resources owned by UK Libraries, both electronic and print titles, linking you to the pages that contain your search terms in the electronic versions and to the location of the print title in the paper collection while also providing page references.
The major index for publications on all languages and literatures, from the Middle Ages to the present. Indexes articles, books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Other topics indexed include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theatre), history of printing and publishing, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, and folklore.
Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. Covers the years 1976-2001. Does not include links to text.
Includes indexing for several important film journals from 1964-2006. For best results, use the "Advanced Search" to find article titles and authors or browse by journal title in the "Film, Theater, and Performing Arts" discipline category.
Archived back-issues of several film-related journals with full-text. Dates range from 1802-2000. For best search results, search by keywords in "Article Search" or for journal title in "Find Journals." A list of film journals can be found in "Find Journals" under the "Performing Arts" subject.
Biographies from Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated and many periodicals covered in Biography Index, including full-text articles, page images, and abstracts (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). Covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images.
Indexes current and retrospective reference sources that cover over 13 million individuals, both living and deceased. Sources include biographical dictionaries and who's whos, subject encyclopedias, volumes of literary criticism, and indexes.
An online journal from Australia that is devoted to the serious discussion of cinema. It includes critical evaluations of dozens of directors, film annotations, scholarly essays, top ten lists, and archived articles back to 2000.
Nexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.