It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 180: Great Movies: Introduction to Africana Film Directors: Information about African History and Culture
A guide to library resources for ENG 180. Fall 2019.
This work provides readers with an overview of contemporary customs and life in North Africa and sub-Saharan Africa through discussions of key concepts and topics that touch everyday life among the nations' peoples.
This encyclopedia introduces the history of colonial wars in Africa and illustrates why African countries like the Democratic Republic of Congo, Nigeria, Somalia, and Sudan continue to experience ethnic, political, and religious violence in the early 21st century.
Presenting a continent-wide comparative analysis of ethnic, political, and colonially based insurgencies, this text examines the causes, tactics, outcomes, and key individuals of African insurgent events and assesses a range of foreseeable outcomes in Africa's multiple regions of continuing political instability.
Provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. From a global perspective, the set traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism.
Examines the history, educational philosophies, and current practices of schools in the region, including a special "Day in the Life" feature that shows readers what an average student's school day is like for that country.
Provides a comparison of the educational systems in the Middle East and North Africa. Examines school organization, the history of their educational systems, the relationship between religion and schooling, issues of education and inequality, the relationship between education and development, and the education of various groups.
AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, consisting of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Africana Periodical Literature) and African Women's literature (African Women). Find items here, then search in the UK Libraries E-Journals database to see if UK has access.
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Indexed coverage of issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources, including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more.
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of international serials literature in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Over 1,700 titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States.
This 3-volume country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries. This updated and expanded edition gives users up-to-date coverage of reorganized educational systems and high-interest topics such as technological advances.
This wide-ranging, multidisciplinary encyclopedia describes and analyzes how the governments profiled affect citizens in the daily exercise of their rights and responsibilities. Arranged alphabetically and richly illustrated, Governments of the World features biographies and historical surveys on different types of political systems, such as constitutional monarchies, presidential systems, democracies and dictatorships, and much more.
Compilation of U.S. Department of State reports on contemporary political and economic conditions, government personnel and policies, political parties, religions, history, education, press, radio and TV, climate, and other characteristics of selected countries of the world; together with travel alerts, passport and visa information, world health information for travelers, and customs and duty tips for returning residents.
Covers all aspects of global health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities.
This two-volume Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1) and those considered on the right, in the right-hand volume (Volume 2).
Pamphlets written by the State Department for most countries in the world. Each includes a section on foreign relations between that country and the United States including a listing for each ambassador.
The box labeled "Get Country Info" provides a variety of resources on various countries. Simply chose a country and then the type of source desired. Sources include: Business Monitor International, Country Briefings, PRS Risk Guide and Services, and Recent News Stories.
The OECD Economic Outlook is the OECD’s twice-yearly analysis of the major economic trends and prospects for the next two years. Prepared by the OECD Economics Department, the Outlook puts forward a consistent set of projections for output, employment, prices and current balances based on a review of each member country and of the induced effect on each of them on international developments.
The World Factbook (from the CIA) provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.