Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Kentucky Writers: Authors of the Bluegrass State: Special Collections at UKY

"Authors of the Bluegrass State" is a guide by Kentucky Collects. This guide provides information about authors and writers from Kentucky and their work.

Contact Us at the SCRC

Breckinridge Research Room's picture
Breckinridge Research Room
Contact:
2nd Floor
Margaret I. King Library
Special Collections Research Center
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0039
859-257-8611
Website

Terminology and Historical Sources

You may come across language in UK Libraries Special Collections Research Center collections and online resources that you find harmful or offensive. SCRC collects materials from different cultures and time periods to preserve and make available the historical record. These materials document the time period when they were created and the view of their creator. As a result, some may demonstrate racist and offensive views that do not reflect the values of UK Libraries.

If you find description with problematic language that you think SCRC should review, please contact us at SCRC@uky.edu.

What is the Special Collections Research Center?

UK Libraries Special Collections Research Center collects, preserves, and provides access to materials documenting the social, cultural, economic, and political history of the Commonwealth of Kentucky. SCRC is home to UK Libraries' collection of manuscripts, University of Kentucky archives, rare books, Kentuckiana, the Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History, the King Library Press, the Bert T. Combs Appalachian Collection, the John G. Heyburn II Initiative for Excellence in the Federal Judiciary, and the Wendell H. Ford Public Policy Research Center.

Research materials in SCRC generally fall into the following categories: 

  • Archives
  • Rare Books and Print Collections
  • Images
  • Oral Histories

How Do I Find Archives Collections?

 

Archives collections are the unpublished items created by or given to a person, family, or organization and kept for their historical value. Use SCRC's digital archive, ExploreUK, to find archives collections from SCRC. Enter a topic below to get started!

 
 

 

 

How Do I Find Oral Histories?

 
Use Spoke, the Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History collection catalog, to find, listen to, and request copies of oral histories from the SCRC.  You can follow links to interviews or projects that are available online or request interviews that are not yet online via your research services account.
 
 

 

SCRC Links

Archivist

Ruth Bryan's picture
Ruth Bryan
Contact:
Special Collections Research Center
M.I. King Library
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0039
859-257-1466

Librarian

Matthew Strandmark's picture
Matthew Strandmark
Contact:
110 M.I. King Library
UK Libraries
Lexington, KY 40506

Director, Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History

Doug Boyd's picture
Doug Boyd
Contact:
Margaret I. King Library
175 Funkhouser Driver
Lexington, KY 40506
8592579672